Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Shock angle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2014, 07:49 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Shock angle

i've seen various build threads where the shocks are angled, front angled to the rear and rear to the front, and was wondering what this does for performance.
Jeep757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-22-2014, 08:31 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Shock angle

I'm a newb, but......My thought process is it allows you put a larger shock under your rig with out as much lift?
*I'll sit and wait to get flamed to death here........
marcb527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 08:47 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

i'm also a noob at crawling but my understanding is as follows..

- allows to use a longer shock and not increase ride height as much as if it were straight up and down
- allows for more flex as the shock shaft doesn't travel as far up into the shock body for the same height of the wheel from the ground, hence you can get more height/flex at full shock compression
- makes a shock more progressive than if it were straight up and down, that is the initial compression is softer but at full compression it should be a tad stiffer

i'm sure there are other reasons, but that's my understanding so far
mce076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 11:00 AM   #4
RCC Addict

basically it will give you more articulation when you lay the shocks on a forward angle. it has nothing to do about adding longer shocks, that will just lift your rig for a shitty COG.
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:21 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by crawlhog View Post
basically it will give you more articulation when you lay the shocks on a forward angle. it has nothing to do about adding longer shocks, that will just lift your rig for a shitty COG.
Thanks for the clarification!