Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New scx10 owner/kit help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2014, 09:53 PM   #1

Default New scx10 owner/kit help

New to the community and just bought my first scx10 rubicon kit.
Im reaching out to see what assembly mods/tricks that could smooth the process seeing as this is my first time.(terrible as that sounds)

i bought the kit for $250 off ebay and have almost everything i need to get it going. I have a Traxxas Rustler XL-5 so i was planning on using all electronics from it, just need to choose a transmitter and receiver. So Xl-5 speed controller,10t titan motor and stock trax servo.

To the nitty and gritty, any mod's,tweaks or general maintenance please give me some feedback. Any help at all will be greatly appreciated.

Happy to be apart of the fourm
FlubberBuns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-17-2014, 12:45 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: New scx10 owner/kit help

Your esc lacks drag brake, in my opinion pretty essential on a crawler/scaler like this. 10t motor is waaay too fast. Most people run 27-35t motors. You'll have to gear down a lot on pinion/spur. My guess is that it'll probably burn up or wear out quickly anyway. You'll be happier with a combo that suits your car better. At least the motor.

I'd move the battery forward instead of in the rear as the manual says. Mount your battery plate on the frame in front of the transmissiok or between shock hoops.
I'd also get a set of beadlocks and weight the front wheels some.
Odd-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:34 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odd-M View Post