Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: What's the difference??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 06:56 PM   #1

Default What's the difference??

Forgive the noobie-style question, but I'm totally new to crawling so I've been trying to discover the differences between two of the RTR's; the 2012 Jeep® Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon and the Deadbolt.

The Rubicon is $380 for which I get:
METAL FRAME CHASSIS
WB8 WILD BOAR™ DRIVESHAFTS
4-LINK REAR SUSPENSION
27T MOTOR
SPUR GEAR COVER
TRANSMISSION
(single) SLIPPER CLUTCH
WALKER EVANS RACING WHEELS
MAXXIS TREPADOR TIRES
ADJUSTABLE COILOVER SHOCKS
POISON SPYDER ROCK BRAWLER BUMPERS
REALISTIC SCALE DETAILS
2.4GHz AX-3 RADIO
3-CHANNEL 2.4GHz AR-3 RECEIVER
2.1kg weight
229mm height
68mm clearance

Differences:
  • 313mm wheelbase
  • 229mm width
  • 540mm length
  • POISON SPYDER CRUSHER FLARES
  • REAR BUMPER W/SWING OUT CARRIER
  • AE-2 ESC WITH DRAG BRAKE (I believe not waterproof)

The Deadbolt is $300 for which I get:
METAL FRAME C-CHANNEL CHASSIS
4-LINK REAR SUSPENSION
27T MOTOR
SPUR GEAR COVER
TRANSMISSION
WALKER EVANS RACING WHEELS
MAXXIS TREPADOR TIRES
ADJUSTABLE COILOVER SHOCKS
POISON SPYDER ROCK BRAWLER BUMPER
SCALE DETAILS
2.4GHz AX-3 RADIO
3-CHANNEL 2.4GHz AR-3RECEIVER
2.1kg weight
229mm height
68mm clearance

Differences:
  • 305mm wheelbase
  • 225mm width
  • 460mm length
  • WB8 HD WILDBOAR™ DRIVESHAFTS (Same name, but apparently updated with larger, captured cross pin and three-piece design)
  • DUAL SLIPPER CLUTCH
  • 5 BUCKET LIGHT BAR SET
  • PROTECTIVE RADIO BOX
  • METAL GEAR TACTIC SERVO, 151 oz-in
  • AE-5 ESC WITH DRAG BRAKE (waterproof)

The driveshafts are named the same but based on the description, photo and manual, appear to be different between the two models.

Is there a huge reason for a dual slipper being better than a single?