Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: want to do a build but have a few questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2014, 11:29 AM   #1

Default want to do a build but have a few questions.

So i don't want to buy an scx10 rtr since i will be modding it and i don't like any of the bodies that come with it. The only brushed motor i have is a titan 12t with xl5 esc. I hear mixed things about running this motor what do you guys think? also i have some water proof servos from a slash would these be strong enough for crawling? Im new to the crawler world so any input is appreciated.
kpla51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-08-2014, 02:00 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: want to do a build but have a few questions.

Less T's more speed, less torque. May not be the best motor to put in there.
Sailingeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 02:45 PM   #3
RCC Addict

That motor and ESC combo will surely get you going and will provide you the waterproof benefit but since it has not "drag brake", its not desired by those who actually use them on the rocks and obstacles. It will work for you for the time being, but you'll want to change it out later down the road as your skill progresses.

The motor is a throw away motor and not meant to last long - marketing ploy of sorts from Traxxas to make more cash by making you keep replacing the motor when it burns up....I suppose. As such, it will not give you much torque so you'll have to run a lower gear to keep the heat down and the torque usable. That is a 550 motor, larger than stock (540) so you'll have a harder time with gear ratio options.