Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Stock ESC and motor combo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2015, 08:13 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Stock ESC and motor combo

Hello. I have a few quick questions about the RTR models.

How does the stock 27T perform? For those who have upgraded, what's the ideal turn motor that the esc will handle?

I'm an old school RC who hasn't made the lipo switch. I'm still running 7cell, 5000mah 8.4 volt packs. I'm new to the Lipo world. I'm a little confused with the differences between 2S and 3S. Is that the number of cells in the battery? Would the stock ESC be able to handle this:

https://traxxas.com/products/parts/b...mah-74v-2S-25C ???
chino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2015, 08:42 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Stock ESC and motor combo

The stock 27t motor is a capable motor but eventually it may fail or you will want to upgrade.
A 30 - 35t motor is a good place to start when and if you change motor.
You need to start using lipos. There are so many benefits and absolutely no down side to lipo batteries.
Yes 2S means two cells and 3S means 3 cells. The S means they are configured in series and therefore you know the voltage of the battery
2S = 2 x 3.7V = 7.4V
3S = 3 x 3.7V = 11.1V

The stock ESC depends on what model you have. Some can handle 2S or 3S. Either way that battery you linked to is 2S so it will run it.
HOWEVER - Traxxas batteries are notoriously overpriced and you can get an equal quality battery much cheaper elsewhere.