Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: 1976 Ford Courier Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2015, 02:17 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default 1976 Ford Courier Build

Growing up, my grandfather had a blue Ford Courier that made so many trips to the Agway and the lumber yard I'm pretty sure could drive itself there and back on its own. I loved that truck. Even as a little kid my grandfather would let me shift while he held down the clutch.

My grandfather is also partially responsible for me getting into R/C. His neighbor across the street had a Tamiya Hornet that he would race up and down the road. It was the coolest thing my 11 year old eyes had ever seen. I studied the Tower Hobbies catalog obsessively, saved my money and picked up a Tamiya Falcon when I was 12. I was hooked.

Enter my dad. He's always been super supportive of my R/C interest. When my Falcon kicked its rear dogbones for the umpteenth time, he went halfsies with me on a Kyosho Ultima. He thought it'd be a great bonding experience. It probably would have been had I not worked around the clock to build the thing before he even had a chance to sit down. He painted the body.

Time to make it up to him! When I recently found out Pro-Line used to make a Ford Courier body, I knew I had to make a version of my gradfather's truck as a surprise for my dad. I managed to track down a body from Australia. The wheelbase is right around 11.5", so I picked up a Dingo kit and a bunch of other parts to get ready for a build.

Axial SCX-10 Ford Courier Build by johnny anguish, on Flickr