Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Really Enjoying my SCX10 Honcho

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2015, 04:56 PM   #1

Default Really Enjoying my SCX10 Honcho

I am brand new to the hobby of RC Cars... I Bought my first car (Traxxas "Bandit") only 2 weeks ago. Three days later, I ordered a Traxxas "Slash" and 3 days after that, I went to my LHS and bought the SCX10 Honcho... So I've had it a little over a week now.

I've taken it out twice so far and have REALLY enjoyed just putting around on the trails at a local park here in Phoenix, AZ where I work (I actually live in Surprise, AZ which is a suburb of Phoenix). The park where I've been going is only 5 minutes from my office so I can take the Honcho out on my lunch breaks without much issue.

The Park where I've been going is great for that scale off-road experience with lots of narrow trails, washes and hills and I'm looking forward to posting some video soon.

So I have learned a couple of things in my limited crawling experience that kind of caught me off guard:

1. Time flies while your on the trail. As I said, I do this on my lunch hour and I really have to keep track of the time as it seems it's time to go way too soon!

2. I tend to stumble a lot... I'm so busy watching my Honcho and where it's going, I forget to watch where I'm going. Does that happen to anyone else...or just me?

3. I never really run my battery (NiHM) down all the way. In fact I doubt I stress it much at all. I hope that won't shorten the battery life too much.

4. I actually get some exercise following that little truck over hill and dale. Lord knows I need it!

5. While it's not challenging from a crawling standpoint, I really like just putting around on the various trails and watching the Honcho navigate the terrain much like a full size rig would. It's just very relaxing.