Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: SCX10 Rubicon steering sucks

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2017, 05:57 PM   #1

Default SCX10 Rubicon steering sucks

I'm a newb, there I said it. That out of the way I recently picked up a modded SCX10 Rubicon and I am appaled by the lack of steering on this thing. Here's what it's got: Currie Rock Jock axles, Vanquish Chubs and 8* knuckles, steering linkage that works with this setup, MIP axles, Spektrum DX4 radio, Flat Iron XL on 1.9 Gear Heads Sixer wheels (with 6 oz of weight in each one ). This thing turns like a battleship. I physically have a ton of room for the wheels to turn but the servo (no idea what it is since it's covered in plasti-dip) isn't giving me enough sweep to take advantage of the room. I cannot for the life of me find EPA's on my radio, taking the travel all the way to 150% does nothing. It seems to sweep +-30* but I can't get any more out of it. I'm all for swapping out the servo for something known but I am worried that I will not get anymore sweep than what I have now. Oh, the steering links are mounted to the knuckles on the furthest hole from the axle and it does have a metal servo horn (Vanquish?) using the furthest hole. I did a search and all I can find is how people did the mods to get more steering but nothing on how the servo played into their mods. Any help is appreciated.
JeepSK8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-29-2017, 03:47 PM   #2

Default Re: SCX10 Rubicon steering sucks

Not much traffic here...I removed the weight from the wheels. I figure the extra weight of the axles should be sufficient. If not I can add some weights. I'm gonna try a longer servo horn to see how much that affects my steering angle. I have a few plastic ones that came with all the spare parts so I should be able to test it then get a metal one of the proper length if it all works out.