Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 II

Notices

Thread: What mods to make SCX10-II crawl great

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2017, 10:06 AM   #1

Default What mods to make SCX10-II crawl great

So I'm new to RC Crawlers and have built an SCX10-II.
Right now it is mostly stock. I used a Mamba X ESC and Holmes motor. Gears are stock but I would like to regear it for slower speeds.
I have added Samix front and rear shock towers and some cheap Ebay bead lock rims.

So what mods should I look at to make this thing crawl really well?
Tires? Gears? weights?

Keep in mind at some point I would like to add a hardbody or a different body and make it scale looking as I can but not to the point of trying to compete in scale events I just want it to look scale.
Brlowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-15-2017, 10:12 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: What mods to make SCX10-II crawl great

Get a nice set of really soft tires and compliment them with a set of hard, dual stage foams. The soft tires will grab the rocks really well, and the dual stage foams will help keep the sidewallls off the rocks.

Also, get rid of the stock rock sliders and build/buy some steel sliders with a plate under them. You'll slider easier over rocks.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk
excabswap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 10:16 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Don't do anything to it. Stock SCX10II (kit version) is probably one of the finest trucks on the market in stock form. You say you want to re-gear? I don't know of any options out there to make it slower or faster, I'd just adjust your settings on the Mamba.
imthatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 10:19 AM   #4
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC

Better tires and metal beadlocks, lighter body, stout servo
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 11:02 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper