Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 II

Notices

Thread: Technical Trail... Honcho

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2019, 12:02 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Technical Trail... Honcho

I'm getting back into crawling after a long break. Ten years ago I had a built AX10 that was a lot of fun, and I later regretted selling it, so after playing around with an ECX kit for a while I dove back in to an Axial.

The goal was a scale-ish 1.9 truck that behaves similar to a 1:1 wheeler. I have a built flatbed Toyota on 37s so the Trail Honcho was a natural choice. I've been driving it for a few months, starting from stock, and this is what I've ended up with. The mods aren't too crazy, just enough to improve the weak spots and increase crawling capability.

SCX10ii Trail Honcho RTR
Bobbed flatbed 30mm, added fuel cell, trimmed fenders
DIY aluminum bumper and sliders
Pitbull Rock Beasts, Pitbull 2 stage foams with an extra stage added to the rears
SSD Steel Beadlocks
Axial U-Joint front axle shafts
JX 30kg Coreless Waterproof Servo, Axial aluminum servo horn (enough steering angle to rub the lower links)
Vanquish stainless steel link set
Traxxas TRX-4 GTS shocks, black "heavy" pistons, 20wt oil
Axial white 1.13 lb/in springs front, green 1.70 lb/in springs rear
Common Sense RC 5200 2s LiPo
Stock Axial motor/ESC
Axial 12t pinion for a bit more gear reduction

It's a pretty fun little truck now! I've done a bunch of trimming/adjusting/shimming to get everything set up well and I think it's pretty dialled in for now. I'll definitely upgrade the motor and ESC in the future, but the compact TTX200 transmitter works well and is pretty lightweight for hiking around with the truck so I don't see a need to swap that yet.

Last edited by zane!; 06-12-2019 at 04:05 PM.
zane! is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-12-2019, 12:04 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Technical Trail... Honcho