Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 II
Loading

Notices

Thread: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2020, 11:15 AM   #1
RCO
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Default Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Want to change the transmission in my raw builders kit, to get everything under the Hilux cab.
I allready have the Bowhouse HD BatTray installed and the flipkit as well.

It should work when i order the Axial 31439, right?

Thanks for helping!
RCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-2020, 11:25 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here
Posts: 3,042
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

I'd buy parts from toyzuki forward motor mount and 2.5 t-case.. I just did this and worth every penny.
1st pic is what I originally had in my scx10ii c1.

2nd pic is what I swapped too.
Toyzuki forward motor mount and 2.5 t-case.

3rd pic internals of t-case


Sent from my SM-A505U1 using Tapatalk
tapped-out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:41 AM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Calgary
Posts: 566
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Raw builders kit already has that transmission, it's just silver.
Xx Losungen xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:45 AM   #4
RCO
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Nice setup and thanks for replying...
But i don’t wanna change the whole trans and more. Just flip.
The question is still open..
RCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:46 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here
Posts: 3,042
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Here's your transmission correct?


The scx10 ii transmission I showed is different then your I knew that.

Your stock builder kit transmission isn't the toyzuki parts I swapped to... the toyzuki motor mount Is silver but isn't the scx10ii transmission.

Sent from my SM-A505U1 using Tapatalk
tapped-out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:47 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here
Posts: 3,042
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

No problem good luck.

Sent from my SM-A505U1 using Tapatalk
tapped-out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:49 AM   #7
RCO
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Default Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx Losungen xX View Post
Raw builders kit already has that transmission, it's just silver.

You’re right... my fault!
I meant the transmission from the kit version i wanna swap to.

edit:// this one
http://www.axialracing.com/products/ax31439

Last edited by RCO; 08-02-2020 at 12:03 PM.
RCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:12 PM   #8
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Calgary
Posts: 566
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCO View Post
You’re right... my fault!
I meant the transmission from the kit version i wanna swap to.

edit:// this one
http://www.axialracing.com/products/ax31439
Nah, my bad, you are correct I read your title like a complete potato, sorry for the confusion.
Xx Losungen xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:21 PM   #9
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here
Posts: 3,042
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

So IMO because I had the transmission I think you want to buy.. in fact I modified the transmission to have overdrive worked well..
But was to high geared for me...
So I reluctantly swapped over to the toyzuki parts. After doing so I feel it was worth every penny.

Link to modified transmission.
Thought I had a bright idea.. for over drive.

Sent from my SM-A505U1 using Tapatalk
tapped-out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:20 PM   #10
RCO
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Thanks tapped-out! Nice work on the transmission.

So the SCX2 transmission is higher geared from what i read...
This means i have to replace my 16t motor with a higher turn motor to get the „right“ speed?
RCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:35 PM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: here
Posts: 3,042
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

Not necessarily, might be able to run 60t spur gear and 9t pinion I didn't try this gearing with this transmission (Not sure you'll find a 60t spur).

I ran a Holmes Hobbies 16t crawlmaster motor it was faster than I wanted it to be.
Motor never heated up nor did I feel any motor stall, if this was a trail rig probably be fine.
I was building my rig as a C1 scale competition truck.
So this is why I felt gearing was to high or to fast.
I'm not a gearing guru and I never calculated gear ratio
I just seen what others in our local comp GTG'S were running in their c1 comp trucks and swapped to what works well.

Sent from my SM-A505U1 using Tapatalk
tapped-out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:44 PM   #12
RCO
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Default Re: Q: Axial Trans - AX10 to SCX2

You helped me a lot...appreciate!

So i give it a try, order the transmission and see how’s it feels with the 16t.
But i think i’ll end up with a HH TorqueMaster 30 or 55t on 3S.
And the 16t goes on 2S in my winter/slow build project.
RCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com