Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 III
Loading

Notices

Thread: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2020, 05:36 PM   #1
RCC Addict
 
kincer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Apollo Pa
Posts: 1,648
Default Spektrum RTR esc question?

My new Gladiator showed up today, I was gonna cut the battery connector off to install an XT-60 connector but wasn't sure what the extra wire was for. Is this ESC any good? Can I cut an install XT-60 connector without ruining anything? I usually just swap out stock electronics but figured I'd give it a shot first. Anyone have any experience with these new esc/rx deals?
kincer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-03-2020, 06:48 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: okc
Posts: 251
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

I'm going to run mine until it quits. A EC3 connector will fit into the one on the Esc
sgtlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 07:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: northeast
Posts: 8
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Im not going to tell you that its ok to cut off the connecter but i will say that the little center wire is the "smart" wire that communicates with the esc, charger, etc and tells what the battery charge is. for instance on the rtr it tells the esc which in turn tells the included radio what the battery charge is. like mentioned up there ^^^ a ec3 connecter on a battery will let you run and connecting a smart battery with the ic3 can be charged with an ec3 cable.

i would think that if you cut off the ic3 connector and the "smart" wire and solder on another connector you should be good but i wont take credit if you have issues. Maybe you would want to get a ic3 to xt-60 cable to keep from cutting.....
krauley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 07:35 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
kincer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Apollo Pa
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtlt View Post
I'm going to run mine until it quits. A EC3 connector will fit into the one on the Esc
Quote:
Originally Posted by krauley View Post
Im not going to tell you that its ok to cut off the connecter but i will say that the little center wire is the "smart" wire that communicates with the esc, charger, etc and tells what the battery charge is. for instance on the rtr it tells the esc which in turn tells the included radio what the battery charge is. like mentioned up there ^^^ a ec3 connecter on a battery will let you run and connecting a smart battery with the ic3 can be charged with an ec3 cable.

i would think that if you cut off the ic3 connector and the "smart" wire and solder on another connector you should be good but i wont take credit if you have issues. Maybe you would want to get a ic3 to xt-60 cable to keep from cutting.....
Thanks for the info, I'm on the hunt for an adapter, like I said I usually replace stock electronics with usually a 1080 esc and better servo, then replace radio with a rx for my hacked flysky but I figured I'd give this a shot first.
kincer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 08:42 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raleigh-ish vicinity
Posts: 3,846
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

I cut the stock connector off mine and use a regular, old XT60. The 3rd signal wire is currently coiled up and stuffed into the case should I ever want/need the smart battery stuff. Spektrum is kinda vague on what exactly the smart battery provides you while driving, the best I can gather is your radio can display pack capacity with a smart battery. Even without the 3rd wire, the ESC can send pack voltage and other telemetry data to your radio.

Also, if you weren't aware, you can program it with the same card as a HW 1080. All the setting are even the same except you can't change the BEC voltage.
svt923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 09:36 AM   #6
RCC Addict
 
kincer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Apollo Pa
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by svt923 View Post
I cut the stock connector off mine and use a regular, old XT60. The 3rd signal wire is currently coiled up and stuffed into the case should I ever want/need the smart battery stuff. Spektrum is kinda vague on what exactly the smart battery provides you while driving, the best I can gather is your radio can display pack capacity with a smart battery. Even without the 3rd wire, the ESC can send pack voltage and other telemetry data to your radio.



Also, if you weren't aware, you can program it with the same card as a HW 1080. All the setting are even the same except you can't change the BEC voltage.
Wow! Great info, thank you!

Sent from my SM-N981U using Tapatalk
kincer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 09:47 AM   #7
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Moncure
Posts: 51
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Im using a converter on mine, similar to this. https://www.venompower.com/venom-uni...r-1-piece-1763

They threw in a couple when I bought the new battery at the RC shop.
bigcanoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 01:14 PM   #8
j0e
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 501
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

What radio are you all using with these esc combos?
Do you have to use the included DX3?
I've read that the DX5 Rugged won't bind with it; do any others?
j0e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 01:39 PM   #9
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 1,751
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by svt923 View Post
Also, if you weren't aware, you can program it with the same card as a HW 1080. All the setting are even the same except you can't change the BEC voltage.
I would have never thought to check that... heading to the garage now! My mother-in-law decided she wanted her first ever rc so she could get out with the grandkids more, so she just bought a 10.3 rtr. Anything that can make it run smoother is definitely welcome!
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 08:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: northeast
Posts: 8
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

i can think in my head which one would be the right one but...

https://www.buddyrc.com/collections/...31968883114070

https://www.buddyrc.com/collections/...30274503213142

one of these would work. but if you know you will never use the original setup then cut away.
krauley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 07:21 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: okc
Posts: 251
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

the dx4c bound no prob
sgtlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 07:22 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: okc
Posts: 251
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

several people on the facebook page said the dx5 and dx5 rugged bound no prob
sgtlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 02:56 PM   #13
j0e
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dela-where?
Posts: 501
Default Re: Spektrum RTR esc question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtlt View Post
several people on the facebook page said the dx5 and dx5 rugged bound no prob



Good to know.
I might need to try one of these out.
j0e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Spektrum RTR esc question? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTR esc question NitroDarwin Axial RR10 Bomber 0 02-27-2017 04:45 AM
Question about RTR esc Smonkman Vaterra Ascender 4 11-10-2015 11:13 PM
SCX-10 RTR/TR ESC Question Banshee800 Axial SCX-10 0 11-25-2009 05:38 PM
SCX-10 RTR Electronics ESC Question Banshee800 Axial SCX-10 0 11-25-2009 05:25 PM
RTR ESC Question. EHeye Axial AX-10 Scorpion 2 04-22-2008 10:24 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com