Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX10 III

Notices

Thread: Thisdudes scx10iii build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2022, 06:09 PM   #1

Default Thisdudes scx10iii build

So ive been running this scx10iii bronco for a couple months now. First 30-50 hours was with minimal changes. But now its time to upgrade. But first im going to post how the first 50 hours of driving it went for me.
I picked up this scx10iio bronco used in early september. No idea how used but this is how i recieved it: 100mm shocks with white springs, portals, straight axle gearing. Rest was stock but missing engine cover, inner fenders and bumpers as well as bumpers being cut off the body.

The first thing i did was i did away with the 4.19 swampers on it and got some 4.75 inch tires. I chose the hyrax pre mounted. During drier weather in september these were pretty good tires on the rocks and climbed hills decently. Now that its wet these cake up really fast and dont shed mud at all. Because of 100mm shocks and portals they dont rub at all on the body. Will be picking up different tires to use until next summer though.

Being on portals and straight axle gearing i picked up a 5200mah 3s hardcase lipo. Stock 35t motor. On this the rig is faster than walking speed slightly, but slower than a honcho on 2s lipo. Overall not bad, 2-3 hours of running gets me to 3.8v per cell. A lot of rear end weight though.

Stock 40a esc/reciever 2in1 has handled the 3s without any problems. Stays cool. Havent bought a program card to change any settings. I do like the dedicated light connectors on it. 35t motor has had most of the torque i need but little slow on hill climbs. Low speed control is not great and drag brake is almost acceptable. Not a fan of 2in1 due to it being only 40a but it makes it annoying to have to buy atleast a new reciever as well just to upgrade.