Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Wraith
Loading

Notices

Thread: converting to 4ws?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2011, 09:47 PM   #1
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: poteau
Posts: 996
Default converting to 4ws?

what all is needed to convert the wraith over to 4ws?

i have the stock c hubs, knuckles, servo, and steering links since i replaced all this on the front end with aluminum parts. i know i'll have to buy new bearings for the front knuckles, but what else will i have to buy?

i know i should replace everything with aluminum stuff, but this will be on the cheap to see if i like it. if i do, then i'll start buying the upgraded stuff just wanting to try it with the stock stuff since it's just sitting in a box anyway!
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-2011, 11:01 PM   #2
Moderator Rule Breaker
 
eric113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 5,969
Default

You will also need..

  • Long and short inner axle shafts
  • Stub shafts
  • Servo plate
  • Servo posts
eric113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:25 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 6512 Elevation
Posts: 884
Default

I would look at Harley's build I think he has the info in there.
http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial...ys-wraith.html
darkmanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:12 AM   #4
XDR
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 193
Default

stock steering will not work on rear, as the drag link is mounted to the top of the tie rod it cannot be flipped over. also youll need at least a 3ch rx and transmitter.
XDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:20 AM   #5
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDR View Post
stock steering will not work on rear, as the drag link is mounted to the top of the tie rod it cannot be flipped over. also youll need at least a 3ch rx and transmitter.
You may be able to flip the output of the servo to the other side to match up. Also you can just run a reversing y-harness if you are only running a 2ch radio.
Harley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:43 AM   #6
XDR
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 193
Default

I was meaning the stock tierod/drag link setup not servo.
XDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:45 AM   #7
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDR View Post
I was meaning the stock tierod/drag link setup not servo.
As was I. Meaning that there may be a combination of servo orientation that may allow you to use the stock tie rod and drag link. At a minimum the tie rod will work and a new drag link would be needed is all.
Harley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:28 AM   #8
XDR
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 193
Default

that may be possible, i could see if you flipped the axle over that you could possibly use both since it would put the diff on the other side.
XDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:54 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: france (bordeaux)
Posts: 23
Default

i have this : Dual Steering Computer Dual Steering Computer Rock Crawler [PRCDSC] - $64.00 : Punk RC, Hobby Light and Servo Controllers for my radio 3 ch
h.300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 11:17 AM   #10
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: poteau
Posts: 996
Default

as for tie rod and drag link, i got that figured. i made my own when i started this and it worked good, just ugly. i'm new! so i was planning on making another set for the rear. i have the spektrum dx3c radio so i got that part covered.

so i need to buy bearings for knuckles, servo mount, servo brackets? going to try and get a set of the axial universal axle shafts for the front so i can just put the stock dogbones in the rear right?

somebody needs to make a kit for this conversion so idiots like me don't have to think so much!!
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:53 AM   #11
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: middle,tn
Posts: 1,326
Default

Lol I totally forgot
To mention the bearings to you.. Those would be needed.. As well as
I need some also I
Guess I would've figured it out when I started putting it together... Thanks for asking this question....


J-bird
j-bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 07:27 AM   #12
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: vienna
Posts: 119
Default

for the rear i am using vanquish knuckles and chubs for the wraith
do i also need to get Axial Racing Flange Pipe 3X4.5X5.5 (4PCS.) #AX30450
Results for *ax30450**-*The Crawlers Store LLC

items for the rear for 4ws:
bearing axa1221 4x
bearing axa1230 2x
ax30450 4x
servo plate
diff cover
vp tie rod
vp drag rod
anything else?
bikeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:41 AM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: meriden
Posts: 341
Default

My ? Is , I take it u have to cut out some of the lower cage to make the servo fit? And when u cut it what's everybody doing to re support the lower braces?
ebomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:48 AM   #14
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebomb View Post
My ? Is , I take it u have to cut out some of the lower cage to make the servo fit? And when u cut it what's everybody doing to re support the lower braces?
Just take out that lower piece. It's four screws is all. I'm running the DMG kit and don't notice any flex.
Harley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:01 PM   #15
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: poteau
Posts: 996
Default

dmg kit? is this a rear steer kit?!!
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 03:16 PM   #16
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoghead5150 View Post
dmg kit? is this a rear steer kit?!!
No it's a chassis piece that replaces plastic parts with aluminum.
Harley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:52 PM   #17
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: poteau
Posts: 996
Default

ok, i have a problem! i got in a hurry and think i may have screwed up. i have everything ordered to convert to 4ws BUT i need some pics of people that have done this already. reason is, i still run the battery in the rear (stock) location and i don't think the servo will clear. it looks like i need to remove the rear portion of the tube frame under the battery tray. also think i may have to remove the batt tray.

anybody with good pics of the rear steer setup??
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:55 PM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ?
Posts: 5,055
Default



sally1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:58 PM   #19
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alpine,CA
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoghead5150 View Post
ok, i have a problem! i got in a hurry and think i may have screwed up. i have everything ordered to convert to 4ws BUT i need some pics of people that have done this already. reason is, i still run the battery in the rear (stock) location and i don't think the servo will clear. it looks like i need to remove the rear portion of the tube frame under the battery tray. also think i may have to remove the batt tray.

anybody with good pics of the rear steer setup??
Only picture i have on me @ the moment..

But you are right, that portion of the tube frame does need to be removed, 4 screws and its out - The trucks still plunty stable/strong enough once that's out of there. You'll want to move that battery up front anyways, rig will do alot better on the rocks and any sort of hill climb.

Like i said - not the best, but you can see where the servo travels on my rig.. Mines lowered - so its already in that area @ Ride height, Not sure about yours.

DiEzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:07 PM   #20
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,075
Default Re: converting to 4ws?

..here's Bender's 4WS set-up: Add 4 Wheel Steering to Your Wraith
ussprinceton2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com