Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: suspension travel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 07:17 PM   #1

Default suspension travel

Im new to this. Currently have a summit and just purchased a wraith. Im looking for more suspension travel for the rocks. Wanting to make it a crawler. Id like to know what mods or upgrades I could make to improve in this area.
chevy9534 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-22-2011, 08:39 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevy9534 View Post
Im new to this. Currently have a summit and just purchased a wraith. Im looking for more suspension travel for the rocks. Wanting to make it a crawler. Id like to know what mods or upgrades I could make to improve in this area.
Most limit suspension travel for crawling to keep a low COG.
frdtrkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:53 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

If you want to crawl with it, you will likely want to droop the suspension to keep the COG as low as possible. Switch the battery and electronics front to back, flip the shock mounts, add some weight to the front wheels as a start.
Give that a try, and see what you need to do from there
YYCADM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:22 AM   #4
20K Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYCADM View Post
If you want to crawl with it, you will likely want to droop the suspension to keep the COG as low as possible. Switch the battery and electronics front to back, flip the shock mounts, add some weight to the front wheels as a start.
Give that a try, and see what you need to do from there
Droop suspension is terrible. It's the quick way to lower CG without new shocks but performs terrible. We have played with droop in crawling since the beginning, it is NOT the best way.

Get some softer springs, like Losi Golds and flip the shock mounts.