Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith
Loading

Notices

Thread: Moving battery mount

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 09:50 AM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver Island, B.C
Posts: 53
Default Moving battery mount

I keep hearing about everyone movie the battery forward. I've searched but I can't find any pics hows its done. Can someone post some up please?
jhedsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-23-2011, 10:11 AM   #2
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NEPA
Posts: 65
Default

I placed mine under the hood, horizontally (one end on driver-side, other end on passenger side) against what would be the firewall in a real vehicle. Basically, it is in the area occupied by the stock ESC. My radio box is also removed and I have the battery strapped to support that used to mount the radio box.

Note, this will work with the stock interior, but if you have a particularly fat battery, you may need to trim it a bit. I've got a Traxxas 4000mah 3s in there with no modification.

Here is another member's pic I found:
WraithCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:27 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tell City
Posts: 19
Default

Here's another option:

CKRC Battery Forward Plate For The Axial Wraith [ck10004] - $15.99 : CKRC Crawlers, RC Rock Crawlers
jbrown287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:40 AM   #4
2006 2.2 National Champ
 
BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake
Posts: 8,328
Default

Here's how I did mine using the stock battery tray.
Step by Step Wraith Kit Build - Part VII - Electronics Install
BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 02:39 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 16,953
Default

You dont want to use this. It has a low price for a reason. I had to trim mine quite a bit for it to fit properly.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:06 PM   #6
Tire&Foam Extraordinaire
 
Nova's Ark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C.I. Compound, Tyler, Texas
Posts: 5,568
Default

The Crawler Innovations Wraith electronics battery tray will be available either in late December or the first of the year. The price should be under $10, cut from 1/16th delrin, and include mounting hardware. Just an option if you can wait for the release of it.
Nova's Ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:27 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Quebec,Dolbeau beach
Posts: 3
Default

There is what i do. Just cut one edge and screw it in place !

G4U7H13R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 08:40 PM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyH View Post
You dont want to use this. It has a low price for a reason. I had to trim mine quite a bit for it to fit properly.
I don't consider $15.99 cheap for a piece of Delrin. I'm thinking Crawler Innovations has the right idea keeping the cost under $10.
Although, 1/16" isn't very thick.
Solitaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:29 PM   #9
Sometimes, I make things.
 
crazyorigin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mt. Upton
Posts: 1,043
Default

Here is the tray I made, for running large or small packs.





crazyorigin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 10:54 AM   #10
Tire&Foam Extraordinaire
 
Nova's Ark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C.I. Compound, Tyler, Texas
Posts: 5,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solitaire View Post
I don't consider $15.99 cheap for a piece of Delrin. I'm thinking Crawler Innovations has the right idea keeping the cost under $10.
Although, 1/16" isn't very thick.

The 1/16th delrin is lighter and plenty strong. It is also cheaper to purchase and faster to machine. All of the proto types I made are 1/16th delrin and there has not been any issues reported by those testing them. I didn't want extra weight up high in the chassis either which is why it's 1/16 thick.
Nova's Ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:53 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyorigin View Post
Here is the tray I made, for running large or small packs.
That's great, definitely inspired me it's the best looking design I've seen!
gothikon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:13 PM   #12
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central, KY
Posts: 57
Default

I just cut the stock battery tray installed it with one screw & lock nut along with a few zip ties. Also installed 4-40 socket head screws with holes in them to secure the hood. I used Team Associated part #'s 6929 & 21173.
kyrzrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:27 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: the first state
Posts: 218
Default

has any one who moved the battery to the front had issues with being too front heavy? went crawlin yesterday and it would roll foward if going down steep hills. there is almost no weight in the back now. i was running along the trail and hit a couple small jumps and it landed on the front bumper. almost as annoying as it going over backward from no weight in the front.
i am thinking about putting a good amount of weight in the front tires and putting the battery back in the back where it was.
bmf24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:39 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 35
Default Bat mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by BENDER View Post
Here's how I did mine using the stock battery tray.
Step by Step Wraith Kit Build - Part VII - Electronics Install
Did it this way yesterday, real smooth and easy.
HIGH-SIDED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:20 AM   #15
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Moving battery mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmf24 View Post
has any one who moved the battery to the front had issues with being too front heavy? went crawlin yesterday and it would roll foward if going down steep hills. there is almost no weight in the back now. i was running along the trail and hit a couple small jumps and it landed on the front bumper. almost as annoying as it going over backward from no weight in the front.
i am thinking about putting a good amount of weight in the front tires and putting the battery back in the back where it was.
...I'd like to know the same thing...
ussprinceton2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:03 AM   #16
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UTAH COUNTY
Posts: 837
Default Re: Moving battery mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyH View Post
You dont want to use this. It has a low price for a reason. I had to trim mine quite a bit for it to fit properly.
This hobby is all about modding stuff. I personally dont have a problem changing things up or making things work how I want. Its a big part of the crawling hobby. How do you think crawling started. It sure wasn't from someone just producing a kit. People had to make their own rigs from the ground up... Just some food for thought..
jthellfire911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:07 AM   #17
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UTAH COUNTY
Posts: 837
Default Re: Moving battery mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton2004 View Post
...I'd like to know the same thing...
Put some weight in the rear wheels and maybe your electronics. That should even everything out a little.
jthellfire911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:25 AM   #18
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: frederick
Posts: 75
Default Re: Moving battery mount

got a question. Whats the reason for moving the electronics?? is it for balance?? is it because there is no room after the battery is moved up front?? just curious.
1lowta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:06 AM   #19
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 91
Default Re: Moving battery mount

No room for everything really. I used the ckrc front battery tray and I have the stock electronics box still in the front with a bec, controller for the lights, and controller for a winch in there, then in the back I have the esc and a traxxas waterproof box for the rec.
Steve p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:17 AM   #20
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Moving battery mount

..will this Turnigy 3s 3000 mAh fit the stock battery tray location (kit version), as well as the Bender mod behind the dash/firewall? Here is the actual battery's link with the size dimensions: HobbyKing R/C Hobby Store : Turnigy 3000mAh 3S 40C Lipo Pack (USA Warehouse)

If not, which 3s 40C lipo battery between the 3000 to 5000 mAh range will fit both locations?..

How much run time will I get using the holmeshobbies 13T CrawlMaster?

Last edited by ussprinceton2004; 01-08-2012 at 09:19 AM.
ussprinceton2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com