Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith
Loading

Notices

Thread: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 12:50 AM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

I need to order a 3s lipo and was looking at Sky brands at hobbypartz.com...Will this fit the stock (kit version) battery location? Here is a link for a 4000 mAh with the dimensions listed: SKY LIPO 4000mAh 40C 11.1V Hardcase Lipo battery pack

...what about this 5000 mAh? It is 6.76mm thicker, 0.19mm wider, and 0.37 longer, than the 4000 mAh from above.

...here is the link for the 5000 mAh: SKY LIPO 5000mAh 40C 11.1V Hardcase Lipo battery pack

Within this same subject, if those two batteries fit the stock kit location, I will try running the wraith with the weight toward the back and see if I like it. However, if I want to try and move the weight to the front, by moving the two batteries I mentioned, will they fit Bender's battery tray mod? Here's the link to Bender's mod: Step by Step Wraith Kit Build - Part VII - Electronics Install

All answers/input/suggestions, would be greatly appreciated.
ussprinceton2004 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2012, 05:05 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,489
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

It's not looking good for either.
The Wraith stock battery tray in the rear is 145mm x 44.5mm wide x 23mm high. The limiting factor to the height is due to a cross brace. A shorter LiPo (102mm) could go a lot higher. The opening in front of the dash is 150mm (max) x 36mm wide x 55mm high and Bender's contraption will take up a few mm of height and length, but not much.

You could stack two 2200's in the front area or one in the back and one in the front and run them in parallel.
Solitaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:11 AM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

..I've read some posts of wraith owners here that have 3000 to 5000 range 3s lipo batteries...could someone please provide links online to the largest mAh 3s that will fit in the stock kit location, as well as behind the firewall (Bender mod)?..
ussprinceton2004 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 10:24 AM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alpine,CA
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Im not sure about the hardcase, but im pretty sure it wont fit.


I'm running these in front of the firewall Sky Lipo 4400mAh 11.1V 30C with no issues. Fit right in that slot like it was designed for it.. I also use a modified (just cut up, trimmed down) CKRC Battery tray https://www.ckrccrawlers.com/ckrc-ba...339fec40f4bb22 but you could easily make your own..

A friend is using these Sky Lipo 5000mAh 11.1V 30C - tight fit, but drop right in.


Everyone's got their own opinion on C rating as well, whats needed, what isn't blah blah blah - I get the highest that's within my budget, At a minimum 20c - again, IMO.

DiEzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:14 AM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiEzel View Post
Im not sure about the hardcase, but im pretty sure it wont fit.


I'm running these in front of the firewall Sky Lipo 4400mAh 11.1V 30C with no issues. Fit right in that slot like it was designed for it.. I also use a modified (just cut up, trimmed down) CKRC Battery tray https://www.ckrccrawlers.com/ckrc-ba...339fec40f4bb22 but you could easily make your own..

A friend is using these Sky Lipo 5000mAh 11.1V 30C - tight fit, but drop right in.
will the Sky 3s 4400 30C battery you linked from HobbyPartz.com fit in the stock (kit) battery location?
ussprinceton2004 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:03 AM   #6
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,489
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Hey boat guy. I gave you the dimensions of both compartments so YOU can figure out what LiPo will fit. Now your in two threads asking the same question.

If you're confused, just take the dimensions I gave you yesterday and check the battery size on whatever website you desire and see if it will fit.

Rocket science? Nah.
Solitaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:47 AM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: a house
Posts: 1,988
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

check the specs of the batteies VS were you want to put it and that will answer your questions. like SOLITAIRE said , not rocket science.
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:19 PM   #8
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: poteau
Posts: 996
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

yes they will fit. my brother ran the sky lipo 4000mah hardcase, i ran the 4400mah hardcase. they will fit the stock battery location, but it's tight. they fit under the hood just fine. i was getting over an hour and a half runtimes with my brushless motor also!!
hoghead5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:38 PM   #9
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Granada hills
Posts: 101
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiEzel View Post
Im not sure about the hardcase, but im pretty sure it wont fit.


I'm running these in front of the firewall Sky Lipo 4400mAh 11.1V 30C with no issues. Fit right in that slot like it was designed for it.. I also use a modified (just cut up, trimmed down) CKRC Battery tray https://www.ckrccrawlers.com/ckrc-ba...339fec40f4bb22 but you could easily make your own..

A friend is using these Sky Lipo 5000mAh 11.1V 30C - tight fit, but drop right in.


Everyone's got their own opinion on C rating as well, whats needed, what isn't blah blah blah - I get the highest that's within my budget, At a minimum 20c - again, IMO.


Do you have any pics of your friends wraith fitting the sky 5000 mah 3s battery in it? I wanna get that battery too and unsure about the fit
davidq19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #10
RCC Addict
 
ax10tn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cleveland,Tn
Posts: 1,331
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

im running a 5000 venom hardcase and a 5400 soft pack venom both are 2 cell lipo's in the stock location.
ax10tn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 02:14 PM   #11
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alpine,CA
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidq19 View Post
Do you have any pics of your friends wraith fitting the sky 5000 mah 3s battery in it? I wanna get that battery too and unsure about the fit
Nope. But i did show you a picture of my 4400, and did mention the 5000 fits.. And you can see with the information provided on the website they are very similar in size..
DiEzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



will this battery fit in stock location, as well as behind firewall? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biggest lipo to fit in stock location? ruststang94 Losi Micro-Rock Crawler 17 01-26-2010 06:40 AM
How to fit a Vf Dig in an SW3...Stock Location. Rockpiledriver RCP Crawlers 34 04-28-2008 06:39 PM
What battery will fit in the stock GRC wshipley General Crawlers 3 06-29-2007 02:53 PM
battery location hdcustomizer HPI Wheely King 6 04-09-2007 08:02 PM
how can I fit a 6cell stick battery in stock tlt tibs Tamiya TLT Crawlers 5 01-06-2007 02:12 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com