Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: magic smoke?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #1

Default magic smoke?

Hey guys, I had a quick question for ya'll. I'm a noob so bare with me.

I have had my wraith for a little over a week and have had a few problems with it, the latest is smoke.
I have only ran about 4 or 5 battery packs threw the wraith. Today I was driving it around in the yard, threw the grass and crawling on a few bricks around the garden. I was going threw some tall grass and all of a sudden I see a cloud of smoke and all electricty goes out (fully charged battery). I go to pick it up and it smelled like something was burnt. Felt motor and it was pretty hot.

My question is, do you think this is my motor or ESC? I think its probably the motor, but the reason I ask is the thing is not getting any juice at all, no lights, nothing. Even fully charged battery again and still nothing!

Please help, or atleast tell me what ya'll think this could be, because I have no clue.
crawler_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-2012, 02:27 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: magic smoke?

Real quick way to find out: Plug the battery into the ESC.. is the ESC turns on then it's your motor..
It's more than likely just the motor... I burned up my stock motor pretty quickly..
jacobfreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:29 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Are all your wire connections good, what other problems did you have before?
Erbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:36 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erbing View Post
Are all your wire connections good, what other problems did you have before?
Yeah, my connections are good that was one of the problems I had, but fixed that.