Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Drive goes out then goes back in?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 01:24 PM   #1

Question Drive goes out then goes back in?

Noob here with more problemos. I installed VP universals, Chubs, knuckles, and the HR link kit. Went to take it for a drive and it ran fine for a minute then stopped. I could hear the motor still moving but no forward or reverse. I grabbed the tires and manually spun them forward and backwards and then it would drive for a minute. Then cut out again. I assume the Universals are not installed correctly? Any advice is appreciated.
WraithBurger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-08-2012, 01:37 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Drive goes out then goes back in?

Hmm. Tighten the slipper clutch? The tires move freely when you aren't pulling the trigger? Motor runs but the tires dojn't move....hmmm...Something may be stripped out..... Maybe you broke a locker?
ScaleReady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Also check the pinion gear, the set screw may have backed off a little.
Turn'Nburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:19 AM   #4
Pebble Pounder

I agree with both of the above, either stripped locker or (and my bet) you didn't locktite the set screw on the pinion. I neglected the locktite on my first couple rigs, and it cost me many frustrations.
Crawlster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:35 AM   #5
Jus
I wanna be Dave

You shouldn't need to loctite the pinion. I never have and never had one loosen. If it wasn't tightened properly though it needs to be checked.
Jus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jus View Post
You shouldn't need to loctite the pinion. I never have and never had one loosen. If it wasn't tightened properly though it needs to be checked.