Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Hot Racing Links are hot mess!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 12:10 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Hot Racing Links are hot mess!!

So, I'm new to RC and the Wraith is my first.

I bought a link dress up kit from HR (Hot Racing)

Here's my thoughts:

Steering Link: First thing I put on. It actually functions ok. Better than stock. But..... The brass retainers fall out pretty easily. My fix? Spread super glue with a stick to the whole rim, then press back in place. This holds for a few days to a week.

Suspension Links: They look nice and at $63.00, I didn't think I was cheating out.
I tried to install and the geometry was horrible!!! The link ends are at a horrible angle and are aluminum, so they likely can't be bent. In this pic, I'm holding one link straight and you can see where the link wants to go.
Don't even get me started on the uppers.

I tried in threading the ends to get proper angles, but the the links were loose and unstable.

Has anyone had luck with these? Should I try different ends? Revo? Jato?

Diff Covers: these seem to work ok, but they lack the inner lip that the stock plastics have. So I can only assume they don't deal as well to water.

I have ground my pumpkins down on the rocks from weeks of crawling. After putting the new covers on, I was worried about hanging up on the lip. Not a problem, these things are so soft, that within a few hours, they have ground down to match the plastic pumpkin that took weeks.

All in all, I would strongly suggest avoiding this kit. I wish I knew that HR sucked.
Sethmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-02-2013, 01:00 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Hot Racing Links are hot mess!!

should have got the blue monkey links there around the same price and are way better
kakachille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:58 PM   #3