Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Wraith Kit - 1st build - what would you upgrade from the gate?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2014, 11:27 PM   #1
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Default Wraith Kit - 1st build - what would you upgrade from the gate?

I am new to RC but have decided to build a Wraith. I plan to use a MMP ESC. Undecided on the motor yet, but I plan to go Brushless (thinking hobbywing 3656sd 3400kv). I know I need a good servo (what would you choose?).

I read Harley's bombproof thread. A TON of info but the bullets were from 2 years ago. As of today, if you were building one what would be the must have upgrades from the get-go? My plan really is to upgrade as it breaks, if it breaks - but I don't mind addressing a real weak link or two before I even get started. I plan to crawl, but also would like a little speed for low level bashing. For serious bashing I have a Stampede.

I'm really excited about this. Crazy it's hard to even find one in stock now so I can start with buying a few "parts" instead. The "lockers" intrigue me, but it doesn't have them stock??
IPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-2014, 12:07 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Wraith Kit - 1st build - what would you upgrade from the gate?

the stock lockers are sloppy but still usable, the first upgrade out of the box should be the servo, followed by the steering linkage. as you are going brushless, change the spur gear to a 32 pitch setup, 56t spur and a 11t pinion and see how it goes from there..then upgrade as things break..

Last edited by allanon1965; 04-06-2014 at 08:37 AM.
allanon1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 03:08 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper