Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Aluminum body panels

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2015, 04:01 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Aluminum body panels

I was bored this weekend and made up a few sets of templates for aluminum panels for the Wraith. I work in the printing industry and have access to large .12mm thick sheets of aluminum.

I made a plate for the rear of my scx10 to mount the electronics and found you can use a razor knife to score and break the aluminum quite easily and cleanly. It takes some time and patience but I thought it worked really well. That's why I thought to make panels for the Wraith.

I have templates for the hood, sides, roof and the back. It uses the stock holes and some extra screws from one of my rc18 screw kits. Now I just need to take the time to cut the aluminum out and drill the holes.

If anyone is interested in trying to make your own panels I can mail you the templates. Find a local printshop and ask if they use aluminum plates and see if you can have or maybe buy one or 2, depending on what size presses they use. One plate off a 40 in. Heidelberg can easily give you enough to make 2-3 sets and leave you with extra to make any other panels you can think of. I have some ideas as well like hood scoops but I need to see how it all works. You can also double up the panels and use foam tape to layer them for more strength.

I will try and get some pictures up of the paper templates mounted so you can see what I'm talking about. As soon as I get mine cut out and mounted I'll post up those as well.

Anyone interested can PM me your address and I'll send them out when I get a chance.
Farabomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-22-2015, 06:02 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Aluminum body panels