Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: The weak link?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2016, 09:31 AM   #1

Default The weak link?

I have been building and running RC's for many years. Back when a Gold chassis RC 10 started. However this is my first Wraith 'style' build. I am on the waitlist for a UCFAB PRT. Just cause the look good. I have built the Vanquish F9 Currie Axels and Vanquish 105 2.2 Wheels. Throw in Voodoo U4's and CI Foams. That part is complete. Now my question is where do you build in the weakest link? The part that you prefer to break because it is both cheaper and easier to repair? Just thinking out the rest of my build
dbedit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-17-2016, 09:56 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: The weak link?

Just build everything bomb proof. That's what I do and nothing really breaks certain parts wear out over time such as cvds and I'm always replacing bearings.
PileDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 04:30 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

The craptastic plastic Susp./Steering links need be steel or aluminum.
Specifically the lower susp. links and steering links.
The servo needs be strong enough and have an alloy clamping servo horn.
And the internal plastic transmission gears should be upgraded to steel.

Upgrading those pieces is a good idea from the start.
And will hold up acceptably to the abuses of most users.

After that...
it really depends on how much power is run thru.
and if you drive it like you stole it.
will determine if you need upgrade to stronger parts.

If yer a WFO person or heavy fingered...
then you will need spend the money
and make it all bombproof.

I say don't fix it 'til it's broke or you'll need spend another fortune
all at once... rather then a little bit at a time.

The upgrades never really end btw
TacoCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 05:07 PM   #4