Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Wraith setup for crawling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 09:05 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Wraith setup for crawling

Hi guys, i need help setting up a my wraith for crawling.. Im a pro racer but when it comes to setting up a crawler, i have very little knowledge.. I want it to perform.. I know link placement is key and so is shock angle..
My current setup is
Losi shocks 30wt all around
All electronics up front
No weight added
Proline "xl"interco tires.. Im thinking, my tires might not be the best for traction.. I know in racing,tires are key
I have stock gearing.. I have under drive and over drive gears but not installed..
Is there any setup sheets to show shock location or link placement to give better overall traction???
hairumuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-02-2016, 12:09 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Wraith setup for crawling

There's not much adjustment available for the shocks and none for links but they're pretty good in the stock locations. It's not as important on the Wraith as it would be for a comp crawler or racer.

One of the most important mods for the Wraith is to get the center of gravity down, even at the expense of some ground clearance. You can get a lowering kit which will also give you additional shock mount points. Tune your shocks with a bit of droop to further reduce the ride height.

You should do the battery up front mod if you haven't already.

The Proline Super Swamper XLs are actually very good tires and get better as they break-in but the foams that come with them are way too big. Get some Crawler Innovations Double Deuce foams which makes a world of difference.