Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Building a CLIMBER...Setup?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2017, 08:09 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Building a CLIMBER...Setup?

I am pretty new at this and I find that most of the places where I go rock crawling is really rock CLIMBING. My truck is a spawn kit with 55t axial motor and stock gearing. I replaced the stock purple springs with blacks.

I have a lot of awesome places to crawl near me, but it is mostly steep. I've come to the conclusion that I need a little more wheel speed and power and plan to remedy that by going to 3s, and likely down a pinion tooth. Question is; What would you recommend for mods to make the truck a better climber? I have moved all the electronics and battery as far forward as possible. Whats the best way to keep this thing face-down, ass-up while going up really steep rock faces? Thanks.
Myndefuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2017, 09:57 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Building a CLIMBER...Setup?

There's a couple things you can do to a Wraith to make it crawl uphill way better.

Axle tubes: Beef tubes or Boom Racing Kronik tubes, these get inserted into the axle and strengthen it while giving the Chub some metal to thread into, while also adding 1.5 oz of non-rotating mass. Pretty much a mandatory mod IMO.

Shocks: There are shock lift/lowering kits that can in fact be used to lower the shocks, AKA lowering the rig and giving you lower CoG while also giving you some droop.

Knuckle Weights: Pretty much the most drastic form of forward weight possible but also more expensive and requires a good 400+ oz-in servo to toss them around effectively, and some wheels might not work with them. There are a couple setups for this, the easiest as a newb is probably Vanquish's setup: Vanquish steering knuckles and then Vanquish knuckle weights.