Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Motor & ESC capabilities?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2019, 06:47 PM   #1

Default Motor & ESC capabilities?

First off I'm new to the R/C scene, I just picked up an brushless Axial Wraith from someone and after one of the axle bearings let go I decided to tear the whole thing down and rebuild, doing a complete overhaul and maybe upgrading a few things along the way.

For starters I bought it to get into low-speed technical R/C crawling, and the brushless hobbywing xerun 3656 & SCT PRO ESC seem way too fast, the thing can't even turn a corner without recreating the explosive rollover sequence from your favorite action movie. Not to mention there's considerable delay between throttle pull for forward or reverse before it moves in either direction, not what I would describe as smooth!

Where should I start for a basic overview of motors and ESC options, gearing, and transmission details? I've browsed the newbie guide at the top of the forum, but most of the data or parts listed seem to be 4 or 5 years out of date.

Thanks for any help and direction you can provide!
Steven_mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-16-2019, 07:49 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Motor & ESC capabilities?

Are you wanting to go brushless or brushed? Both have their advantages.
And what kind of budget are you looking at?

And I can tell you right now, Holmes Hobbies is the hot motor right now no matter which way you go.
punkindrublik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:06 PM   #3

I have lots to learn. I’ve always assumed brushless was better than brushed for the same reason my cordless brushless tools are better(last longer, more torque, better battery life).

Where can I find details on the differences(pros/cons)?

Budget? Say $200 for motor and ESC, but that’s completely flexible.