Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial XR10

Notices

Thread: Chris's "Cow Ant" XR Crawler Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Chris's "Cow Ant" XR Crawler Build

I've been periodically in and out of r/c crawling for the past decade or so...I started gaining interest after seeing the insane lines that a tricked clodbuster could pull off (anyone else remember those 'Mudcow' videos?). Even though I'm new to the XR10, I've decided to attempt my own custom build using XR axles and designing my own chassis. I've always liked the black and orange look that the XR10 has and I'm gonna try to keep that theme going throughout the build...hence the "cow ant" title.

So far, this is my starting point...
XR10 kit (mainly for the axles and shocks)
Black hex hardware from Tony's Screws
VP Orange Knuckles, C-hubs, Lockouts, Link Mounts, Tranny Cases, Motor Plates, Servo Armor and Ti tie-rod
HH Torquemaster Sport, 55t
HH BR-XL Esc
Futaba S9157
Spektrum DX3E

Haven't decided on tires/wheels yet. I still have a set of Mayhem engineering Evolution beadlock wheels (3.7oz each) but I may be going with a lighter option. Leaning towards white dot Rovers but may sway towards to shaved BC's. Anyways, here's a teaser pic of the goods that came in tonight (thanks CKRC!).

I'll be posting build pics as progress happens...stay tuned.

Chris
coliver14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2012, 10:42 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Chris's "Cow Ant" XR Crawler Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by coliver14 View Post
(anyone else remember those 'Mudcow' videos?)
Yep, sure do!

Quote:
Haven't decided on tires/wheels yet.
I bet MrVertical could make you a set with faces that would match the rest of your orange accessories...
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:42 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

nice bunch of parts ....good luck we'll be watchin it progress