Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial XR10

Notices

Thread: Cormier33's CC Smash Build "TEAM OTTSIX Post Season Build Off" official entry thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2013, 01:00 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Cormier33's CC Smash Build "TEAM OTTSIX Post Season Build Off" official entry thread

Hey all,

The "TEAM OTTSIX Post Season Build Off" has inspired me to build a comp crawler rig. I was initially thinking of getting a RTR rig from someone or getting ahold of an XR10 from eBay but I decided why not build from scratch?!?!?! I am completely new to the hobby so the learning curve has and will be steep but I am confident, after browsing this forum, that I will get all the help I need to build a very capable rig!

Ok, to start:

I purchased a Chaotic Crawler's Smash chassis with Ti links (XR10 axles with VP upper link mounts). Well, after ordering this I realized that it wouldn't be exactly easy to source a set of XR10 axles with the VP upper links Luckily, Mammoth told me about a set that were for sale by JDLiles. They were a beautiful set of XR10 axles blinged out with almost all of the VP upgrades (including the front and rear upper link mounts!). So, I purchased them from JDLiles (thanks again for the opportunity Jesse!)

To keep with the rules of the competition, I am starting this build today (well, later today as its just after midnight!).

I will be following this post up with the goodies that just arrived in the mail a couple of days ago!

I am really looking forward to doing this build and involving my young son who is a great little helper! I am also looking forward to input/suggestions from fellow members throughout my build. I am estimating that this build will take me a good couple of months to save up $$$ for the parts, but I will have it done in time for the competition deadline at the very least!

Last edited by cormier33; 09-15-2013 at 08:47 AM.