Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti XL

Notices

Thread: locked diff's any luck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2016, 12:09 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default locked diff's any luck

I've been fighting broken parts since I locked my rear diff I'm only running on 3s I've broken the pins 3 times I even tryed a hardend pin and it only broke in 2 one pin was s shaped one pin snapped and took out the diff housing any one have any luck running locked diff's I had to put my open diff back in
ferp420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2016, 12:14 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: locked diff's any luck

Old 02-29-2016, 12:05 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

That's some nasty carnage. Are you using the HR spool? I wonder if the HR aluminum diff cup would help? Personally, I think there's too much power (even on 3s) for the tiny drive train in the YXL. I'm no engineer but big massive truck with 1/10 scale diffs....not good.
Deckard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 01:51 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Try to use the straight end of a drill bit. Toughest metal out there
Tzicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 09:48 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave

It was a hr spool it dident hold up to well Ive only run 5 packs through the yeti and only 3 where with the spool installed I didn't use a drill bit but it was a hardend tool steel pin I am going to go with the aluminum housing at some point but I can't afford it right now I dought I'm gona go back to a spool Im giving up on it being a crawler
Old 02-29-2016, 10:00 AM   #6
McD
Rock Stacker

I've got 5-6 pack thru mine with the front and rears locked, with over half of them pulling my 60lb daughter on her snow sled. I haven't heard it grinding yet "crossing fingers"

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
McD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 12:29 PM   #7
RCC Addict