Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti

Notices

Thread: Yeti - VP hubs with VP KMC 795 wheels -Help?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2014, 02:14 PM   #1

Default Yeti - VP hubs with VP KMC 795 wheels -Help?

Hi,
Firstly, sorry if this would be better asked in another forum. Im new to land based rc vehicles (I fly scale heli's), and recently bought a yeti, so this seemed the best place to ask for some help.

Like a lot of others, I got about 10 mins of use before 1 of the stock wheel hub adaptors broke. Im in the UK, and it takes about as long to acquire stock parts as it would be to buy hop-ups, so I did a bit of digging on this site, and saw it was advisable to get some VP hubs. (thanks for everyones input here - its helped in my searches)

I bought the 725 and 225 hubs, and also some VP KMC 795 wheels (these 1's - KMC XD-795 Black 2.2 Wheels - Vanquish Products).

Im just trying to install them, and Ive hit a bit of a hurdle. The wheels have a hub cap thats not removable, so I assume the hub gets attached onto the axle first, then the wheel is attached.

My problem is that once the 225 hubs are in place on the front axle, and the nut tightened, there is not enough clearance inside the recessed space of the hub cover on the wheel, to allow the wheel to sit flush to the hub. The axle tip touches the inside of the cover face, and it leaves about 1-2mm gap between the hub and wheel.

Im figuring I must have to use a different sized hub on front?
Using the recommended hubs, if I'm reading right, it should be 12.5" front, and 13" rear. If I have to widen the front, then the back probably has to be done also?

If anyones managed to make it through my lengthy first post, has an idea of what Im warbling about, and doesn't mind sparing a few minutes to help, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Apologies for the length, and if this info is elsewhere. I did try looking first.