Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti

Notices

Thread: question on diff gears and rear axle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2014, 08:20 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default question on diff gears and rear axle

I don't have a yeti yet but I'm reading as much as possible as I'm new to crawler world. One of my questions is what are the benefits of over and under drive gears. In the vendor section I saw something called beef tubes is there a benefit for these. Last question I see lots of people running 500k diff oil I haven't been able to find it and I was wondering what brand you use and were from.

thanks jeff
ribaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-22-2014, 08:53 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: question on diff gears and rear axle

Over-Unders will help you turn quicker/easier with the front dif lock. Also it will help when climbing as the fronts spin faster and wont flip back nearly as easy. Beef tubes are to add weight down low. I really don't see this necessary in the YETI, but may be wrong. I'm sure it would be good in some cases. I use them in my wraith not only for the lower center of gravity, but my VP housing stripped where the chubs and lockouts go so it gave some extra thread for a bite. Lots of guys use them on the plastic axles when they strip as well. 500k oil is made by many manufaturers. I have a bottle of traxxas dif oil here......says the part number is 5039. I'm positive there are better brands that will be better but it worked good in my slash 4x4.
lawhorn_derrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 09:41 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder