Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti

Notices

Thread: Standard shock question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2020, 07:17 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Standard shock question

This is my first build of a model this size.
I am using the kit shocks and springs.
Reading a couple of posts here I went with 30wt oil at front and 40wt at rear.
Now the build is getting finished and heavier I can see the front sags under weight and when dropped does damp.
The rear however does not seem to sag much AND when dropped from same height bounces rather than damp.
The model is going to be run on mainly flat with no climbing.

Also the manual shows a "tuning" option using 2 piston rings which can be tuned. This sounds a better system so why is this not used as standard OR is it a "gimmick"?
Gazzalene is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2020, 07:32 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Standard shock question

The kit did not suggest the oil W ? Asking because a truck i'm building the blueprints call out 50W.

I see the lighter W oils suggested, keeping that in mind. But I will start with the manufactures spec first.

That said have you tried to adjust the springs up front, add some more pressure, or resistance, raising the rebound hight?

Springs set the hight, the shock will still dampen at the same rate.

pep

Last edited by JacktheRipper; 01-12-2020 at 07:35 AM.
JacktheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 08:41 AM   #3
RCC Addict

@Gazzalene you just have opened 12 single threads in the Yeti section clustering it.
Could you pls open one build thread and post your questions there. Makes it easier also for you to find your q+a at one place.

Front is easy to setup blue axial springs with 700 cst oil, rear depends on more parameters good starting point is 500cst oil and play with spring rates. Could be found in many build threads.