Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat > Chit Chat Classics
Loading

Notices

Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Yes you need an external bec

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2009, 02:03 AM   #21
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Token's life matters
Posts: 1,851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkey View Post
i had 2 servos stalled completely, i was inbetween rocks and couldnt turn and was trying to. how would a bec change that??? all it would have done is held the servos at stall point till i baked them or the pack went flat. never had a problem since that one time, and why, cause i dont stall both servos out, i learned what i cant do.

telling everyone that they must have a bec is complete bs. not everyone needs a bec, like i said, depends on the truck. i know plenty of people that dont run them and have no issue whatsoever. yes there is a place for them, and for comps your going to want to have one, however the average setup with an average servo and esc will be alright without it.

Excuses, excuses. Your welcome to not run one. Just like your welcome to piss on an electric fence. My advice would be to not piss on the fence. But you would just tell me how you have been drinking special water that does not conduct electricity and you can piss on the fence if you want. Go ahead. Just when you shock your yourself dont be mad when I am laughing at you because you passed on great advice.
The Violator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 11-18-2009, 02:08 AM   #22
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Token's life matters
Posts: 1,851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romulus22 View Post
what is a BEC and do i need one on my scaler
click here
Lights and BEC

Then click here

Yes you need an external bec
The Violator is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 02:10 AM   #23
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: crawlifornia
Posts: 1,395
Default

Wut BEC four my AX-10. I'm knew here and really needs to know. can I get one at wal marts

can it handle hammer tires?

























































scorpion26 likes this.
rockhugger is online now  
Old 11-18-2009, 06:52 AM   #24
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: YORK
Posts: 80
Default

what a great way to start my day. i needed a good laugh. BEC is on the list of needed parts
low_down is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 07:31 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crestview, Florida
Posts: 37
Default

So after reading all this... Is it a BEC that I need?
monkeylube is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 07:34 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zookiguy View Post
HAHAHA a mac user. you can change that if you want.
No thanks...I like not having a X.
tw1st3d5 is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:08 AM   #27
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st3d5 View Post
No thanks...I like not having a X.
Yeah, if I paid that much for a computer I would convince my self that I liked not having a X
prophetz is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:13 AM   #28
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: By a lake in Thornton
Posts: 2,220
Default

LICK MY BALLS

:flip off:

LOL
BEELZEBOB is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:47 AM   #29
Suck it up!
 
Duuuuuuuude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 11,570
Default

Can I run a bec with another bec so that I am doubly protected?
Duuuuuuuude is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:52 AM   #30
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: By a lake in Thornton
Posts: 2,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkey View Post
i had 2 servos stalled completely, i was inbetween rocks and couldnt turn and was trying to. how would a bec change that??? all it would have done is held the servos at stall point till i baked them or the pack went flat. never had a problem since that one time, and why, cause i dont stall both servos out, i learned what i cant do.

telling everyone that they must have a bec is complete bs. not everyone needs a bec, like i said, depends on the truck. i know plenty of people that dont run them and have no issue whatsoever. yes there is a place for them, and for comps your going to want to have one, however the average setup with an average servo and esc will be alright without it.

well, if you had a BEC, you wouldn't have fried them servos.

if you can run a dig servo and a steering servo w/o issue, w/o a BEC, then your steering servo is pussified, or you have a HH TM ESC.

id still run a BEC.

go ahead and dont run one


then they'll all laugh at you
BEELZEBOB is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:54 AM   #31
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Token's life matters
Posts: 1,851
Default

You guys are turning my legitimate tech thread into a Joke.
The Violator is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 08:58 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: powder springs,ga
Posts: 9
Default

new to the hard core rc world with an ax10. keep reading about people adding bec to there electronics. what is and what benefit would it add to my truggy:?
s10me is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 09:39 AM   #33
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,154
Default

So I'm running a Novak Rooster Crawler esc with a tp MG946R steering servo, a venom micro servo from my remote diff lock kit on my creeper and a hitec hs225mg mini servo for my dig. These servos hardly ever work at the same time and said esc has about 5-6amp internal bec. The hitec and venom micro servo uses about 300ma, I'm not sure but the mg946r can't use much more than 1.5-2amps at best, so all in all thats about 2.5 - 3 amps so I don't see the need for one with my setup but I could be way off base here, I am a newb.
I do know it would be "safer" to have a cc bec but I have spent alot of money and can't get one right away, I don't want to put my Creeper on the shelf though because I don't have a external bec only to find out I never needed it in the first place with my setup.
Thanks.
Edit, I was just reading up on the 10a cc bec and it states that the servo connector is only rated for 5amps and it should be upgraded if using more than that.

Last edited by kurtus; 11-18-2009 at 10:19 AM.
kurtus is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 09:42 AM   #34
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson
Posts: 673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duuuuuuuude View Post
Can I run a bec with another bec so that I am doubly protected?
Yes you can But just like with condoms, you wont feel much of an improvement.

What about UBEC? Can I run a UBEC without an external BEC or do I need an internal BEC in conjunction with an external BEC that connects to a UBEC?
micro racer likes this.
Ripperfi is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 10:08 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: apple valley
Posts: 38
Default

i just ordered mine. thanks for the advice.
joboyca is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 11:22 AM   #36
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtus420 View Post
So I'm running a Novak Rooster Crawler esc with a tp MG946R steering servo, a venom micro servo from my remote diff lock kit on my creeper and a hitec hs225mg mini servo for my dig. These servos hardly ever work at the same time and said esc has about 5-6amp internal bec. The hitec and venom micro servo uses about 300ma, I'm not sure but the mg946r can't use much more than 1.5-2amps at best, so all in all thats about 2.5 - 3 amps so I don't see the need for one with my setup but I could be way off base here, I am a newb.
I do know it would be "safer" to have a cc bec but I have spent alot of money and can't get one right away, I don't want to put my Creeper on the shelf though because I don't have a external bec only to find out I never needed it in the first place with my setup.
Thanks.
Edit, I was just reading up on the 10a cc bec and it states that the servo connector is only rated for 5amps and it should be upgraded if using more than that.
Sorry to intrude on this "tech thread" , but, You can always email tech@teamnovak.com with your question, during regular CS hours. Before emailing, take a moment to review the instructions (trouble-shooting guide) originally included with your Novak Item:

Novak Instruction Downloads

Quote:
Please make your initial email as detailed as possible. Include:

~ warranty claim?
~ speed control (brand/model)
~ motor (brand/wind)
~ rotor (old/new)
~ connectors used
~ servo (brand/model)
~ radio system (receiver/transmitter)
~ vehicle & gearing
~ battery, brand (c rating/capacity)
~ any external modules (BEC/brand, Glitch Buster)
~ other important info: water damage, corrosive chemical sprays, excess heat, etc
The more information you provide in your first email, the more quickly tech support can offer you assistance.
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 11:24 AM   #37
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 407
Default

We believe the external BEC is so important for most crawling applications, we include it free with our Goat 3S escs and Systems.
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 11:28 AM   #38
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: reelsville
Posts: 1,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
We believe the external BEC is so important for most crawling applications, we include it free with our Goat 3S escs and Systems.
but they still need a CC BEC
indiana mudcat is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 11:38 AM   #39
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: reelsville
Posts: 1,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkey View Post
i had 2 servos stalled completely, i was inbetween rocks and couldnt turn and was trying to. how would a bec change that??? all it would have done is held the servos at stall point till i baked them or the pack went flat. never had a problem since that one time, and why, cause i dont stall both servos out, i learned what i cant do.

telling everyone that they must have a bec is complete bs. not everyone needs a bec, like i said, depends on the truck. i know plenty of people that dont run them and have no issue whatsoever. yes there is a place for them, and for comps your going to want to have one, however the average setup with an average servo and esc will be alright without it.
with the BEC the servo's won't stall so easy, you REALLY need a CC BEC.
indiana mudcat is offline  
Old 11-18-2009, 12:19 PM   #40
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,496
Default

So whats a BEC??? everyone says I need one...
fa1rch1ld is offline  
 



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/chit-chat-classics/211365-yes-you-need-external-bec.html
Posted By For Type Date
Modelsport UK Forum This thread Refback 02-25-2013 12:01 PM
Status Updates - Modelsport UK Forum This thread Refback 02-25-2013 12:00 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com