Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat
Loading

Notices

Thread: Funky MS Vista

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2008, 09:02 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,246
Default Funky MS Vista

Anyone seen in Vista programs minimize to desktop buttons rather than into the taskbar? Nothing minimizes into the taskbar so you can never see what you have open unless you show desktop. I posted up on technet but no response. Gone through all the settings, Googled, can't find anything. Guess I'll end up recreating the users profile.
Name:  Christine.JPG
Views: 256
Size:  20.7 KB
Thorsteenster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-17-2008, 09:40 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Vista = bad

Fix = Format and install Windows XP Pro, or Linux, or Buy a Mac.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:45 AM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 663
Default

Mine minimizes to the taskbar by default.
Echodawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:47 AM   #4
06 Super National Champ
 
JasonInAugusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stark Industries Bar and Grill
Posts: 11,361
Default

Looks like you've got that stupid aero thing on...

I think Vista is the best thing Microsoft could've done to convince people to buy a Mac.

Some of the new laptops and PCs come with hardware which has no drivers for XP...just Vista.
JasonInAugusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:14 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,246
Default

Believe me, if I could wipe Vista and install XP, it would have already been done. I walked into about 20 or 30 Vista machines out of 100 or so at my new gig.

Thats what I was thinking JIA, but none of the aero settings seem to make a difference. I want to figure out how/why it happened so I can spring it on other people!
Thorsteenster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:43 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: One Legend.
Posts: 2,134
Default

I know there are a few programs that are add-ons that do that, but never seen it in stock Vista.

Sure there isn't a gadget running?
Unholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:44 AM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonInAugusta View Post
I think Vista is the best thing Microsoft could've done to convince people to buy a Mac.
Very true...and the best part Mac PC's run Vista more effectively than PC based machines now...SCARY.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:10 AM   #8
06 Super National Champ
 
JasonInAugusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stark Industries Bar and Grill
Posts: 11,361
Default

You think Steve Jobs called Gates and thanked him for Vista?
JasonInAugusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:57 AM   #9
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonInAugusta View Post
You think Steve Jobs called Gates and thanked him for Vista?
Maybe Gates offered Jobs a Zune as a Christmas gift since those like Vista are selling like hotcakes.

Also as an IT professional I have to say, please sign this petition to keep Microsoft sales of XP alive past the slated end this summer. Please take the time to help! http://weblog.infoworld.com/save-xp/...indows_xp.html
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:12 PM   #10
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,246
Default

I signed.

I'll have to check gadgets, there was some stuff running on the side of the desktop. I really don't dig this intimate crash course in Vista. There have been quite a few just funky flukey problems in my first week here.
Thorsteenster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:22 PM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Well if you are the only IT guy, simple fix, blame it on a PEBKAC error. Bosses and non-technical people think "wow this guy knows a lot, look at that crazy word he said".

In the end PEBKAC = Problem Exists Between Keyboard and Chair.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:36 PM   #12
I wanna be Dave
 
FrankyRizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 7,176
Default

Very thankful our company runs XP still.
FrankyRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:38 PM   #13
06 Super National Champ
 
JasonInAugusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stark Industries Bar and Grill
Posts: 11,361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
Maybe Gates offered Jobs a Zune as a Christmas gift since those like Vista are selling like hotcakes.

Also as an IT professional I have to say, please sign this petition to keep Microsoft sales of XP alive past the slated end this summer. Please take the time to help! http://weblog.infoworld.com/save-xp/...indows_xp.html
Wife and I both have 80GB Zunes.

I actually like it better than the iPod...larger screen, more durable.

Hard to find any accessories for it, though.
JasonInAugusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:30 PM   #14
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: isanti, mn
Posts: 177
Default

flame me all you want but i love vista. after you fix the bugs by patching them. the only problem i have is i can't use my awsome sound card because there isn't a driver for it yet, thats it.
joehein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 07:51 PM   #15
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joehein View Post
flame me all you want but i love vista. after you fix the bugs by patching them. the only problem i have is i can't use my awsome sound card because there isn't a driver for it yet, thats it.
Ok personal opinion is fine, but have you actually tried say Mac OSx 10.5?

Any linux variants?

I mean comparing only Windows to a standard non-technical user the apperance of Vista is a good thing, its the underlying memory hogging that heavy computer users face.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:28 PM   #16
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
Maybe Gates offered Jobs a Zune as a Christmas gift since those like Vista are selling like hotcakes.
Did you see this quote from Steve Jobs just after the Macworld keynote?
Quote:
I mentioned that [Microsoft's Robbie Bach] was particularly optimistic about the new Zune, that it was now a worthy alternative to Apple's iPod.

Asked Jobs: "Was he inebriated? Do you even know anyone who owns a Zune?"
Oops! I'm a Mac fan. I drank the Cool-Aid. But that may have gone a little too far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
Well if you are the only IT guy, simple fix, blame it on a PEBKAC error.
If it's not that, then it definitely the ID: Ten 'T' error... (Get it? ID 1OT... ID10T)
TunaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:39 PM   #17
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
Ok personal opinion is fine, but have you actually tried say Mac OSx 10.5?
Have you ever tried to say Microsoft Vista Home Premium?

Don't say Mac OSx 10.5. Say 'Leopard'
TunaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:58 AM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TunaMaxx View Post
Don't say Mac OSx 10.5. Say 'Leopard'
I'm a Linx/BSD guy personally so I usually call things by revision. Plus all those kitty cat names are just to hard to care enough to remember like I should.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:52 AM   #19
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,246
Default

Kinda makes ya wonder if the boys at MS were using PCs or macs when they built Vista. If they were using PCs, how the hell did it ever get released?!
Thorsteenster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 01:19 PM   #20
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: portland
Posts: 138
Default

I agree, vista isnt anything what i was hoping. Call me old school, but my favorite computer i have / ever had, is my dual P3 667. 512meg PC800 Rambus, and a 3dFX voodoo 3 3000. With windows 2000 Pro, its a beast! Hasent given me one problem ever. Down with vista! But same with Mac OS, XP and previous OSs seem to work the best.
Dumptruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com