Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat
Loading

Notices

Thread: Any sim racers on here?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 09:19 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The state of 'Missery'
Posts: 176
Default Any sim racers on here?

When Im not crawlin or wrenchin on my crawler I sim race.Here are a few paint jobs I have done for the various sims I race.






Here is a pic of my sim racing rig and a couple of my sim racing trophys.
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-2008, 10:55 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Saginaw
Posts: 1,721
Default

Wow, that's quite the setup.

Trophys? So, it's competitive? Is there some sort of online organization, or is it like a LAN-party type thing?
Mad Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 606
Default

Is this a computer game? Looks sweet!
trost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:12 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The state of 'Missery'
Posts: 176
Default

Very competitive...There are tons of leagues for every type of racing (F-1 to street stocks) Most all racing is done on-line.Some races are broadcast live via web casts also.
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:13 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The state of 'Missery'
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trost View Post
Is this a computer game? Looks sweet!
The first pic is in-game the last ones are 3d max renders I did.
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:18 PM   #6
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 858
Default

Looks like dirtfactor? I have wanted to set that up for a long time but I got lost and gave up, lol.

I've been wanting to build a set up like that for a while, but right now I only have 1 rig, once I get my Lap Top finished I'll be building something similar.
Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:08 AM   #7
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim/Gardena, CA
Posts: 179
Default

heh... I figured there had to be another sim racer on here...


I drive just about everything. Won 2 Back to Back Trophy Truck Championships at MNRL (MNRLonline.com [its a rfactor league]), Drive the COTs, LMPs (at MNRL and SSCA enduro events), Porsche 917Ks, Champ Cars, Sprint Cars, Late Models, Muscle Cars, and Even Mini Coopers... Its funny though, I've noticed racing these sims have helped with my actual racing (Just a Bit, helps with my Awareness.)


I'm helping test for Iracing right now. That game is ridiculous, so realistic. But when you have the funding of race teams, race schools, and one of the owners of the Boston Red Soxs funding the project, it better be amazing..


Have you bought Arca yet?
DieselPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:02 AM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The state of 'Missery'
Posts: 176
Default

Yea,I have ARCA but haven't ran it much.I got kinda burnt out with sim racing a while ago.I was part owner of Downforcemotorsports.net sim racing league and I was doing it all,running the site,points,setting up series,painting cars and many other things.I also helped Madcowie make the ORR2 mod.When I told my partner I was going to take a break he just said screw it and shut the whole thing down.I am just now kinda ready to get back to racing.
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:25 AM   #9
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: French #70 living in Toyohashi
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun View Post
Looks like dirtfactor? I have wanted to set that up for a long time but I got lost and gave up, lol.

I've been wanting to build a set up like that for a while, but right now I only have 1 rig, once I get my Lap Top finished I'll be building something similar.
You can use a switch, and have use monitor/keyboard for the desk and another one for the cockpit. Or a desk that can be converted (did this for flight sim in highschool)
Coligny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 01:57 PM   #10
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 858
Default

So, is anyone playing Race 07? Whats your opinion on it? I'm installing it now.
Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:27 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: .
Posts: 314
Default

I actually purchased rFactor but never got it
tltman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:34 PM   #12
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Clarkston, MI
Posts: 662
Default

I usually race in the bangers server on LFS. Nothing big.
Crawlerguy851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:44 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Martinez
Posts: 23
Default

You guys have some links for some of these games?

Thanks!
HPI_Savage25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:46 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: .
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlerguy851 View Post
I usually race in the bangers server on LFS. Nothing big.
Ya I Use to mess around on LFS but not anymore
tltman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:53 PM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SLC
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellbilly View Post
The first pic is in-game the last ones are 3d max renders I did.

I am interested to find out what game you are using and where you are getting the models from to import into 3DS Max. I use Max everyday at work.

I would definitely be interested in a SIM racing league. We use to race xbox 360 with Forza 2 and enjoyed it alot!
Lankenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 03:26 PM   #16
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wayne county. PA
Posts: 2,502
Default

i like that c.o.r.r. truck....what game is that, what web site to race on....details need details....all i ever raced was nascar 2002........bob

....
bob1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 04:13 PM   #17
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The state of 'Missery'
Posts: 176
Default

The Late Models and CORR trucks are for R-Factor.RF was designed to be an "open source game",meaning people in the community are encouraged to take the game and modify it into what ever they want.So people make 3d models of whatever cars and tracks they want and put them in games called "mods". After you buy R-Factor go here http://www.rfactorcentral.com/index.cfm this is pretty much the one stop shop for RF mods.The late models and CORR trucks can be found there.I was involved in the painting of alot of the WCORR trucks and almost all of the paintjobs and some modeling for the ORR2 off road truck mod.(my screen name in sim land is Mack_Mechanic)
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 11:12 AM   #18
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 858
Default

I decided to pick up Rfactor, I'm loving it! I can't drive a modified worth a crap, but who can anyway, lol? I am going to be running season 2 Late Models with SLP Racing, some really cool and helpful guys!

I have been having a little problem though I get a little freeze that last for around .500 second. Its really annoying, I have tried turning shadows off and turning all the settings down, but it doesn't make a difference.
Here is the specs on my rig, its not much, but I can't afford much, lol.
AMD Athlon 64 3500 939
AGP Nvidia 7600GS
2gb DDR
500GB Sata X2
Acer 19" Widescreen
Razer Tarantula keyboard
Logitech G5

I was invited to run the last modified race of the season, I made it around 1/12th of a lap, then accidentally hit the ignition switch and when I went to turn it back on I went into the wall. I did get some good pictures of the other racers though.























Sorry they aren't very good :(
Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 02:30 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ponca
Posts: 24
Default

I have rfactor but the wrong version, I dont know how to put the new patch in the file
kyle_C72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 04:09 PM   #20
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 858
Default

Have any of you guys built a button box? I'm trying to plan one out, but I'm not entirly sure on the wiring.
Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com