Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: 1:1 Exhaust Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2006, 06:36 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default 1:1 Exhaust Question

The last few weeks I have been shopping around for a better exhaust system for my 2000 XJ. I've been looking at single exhaust cat back systems, but everywhere I go wants me to go dual exhaust. Is there really an advantage between a good single exhaust and a good duel exhaust. Im still running with a stock 4.0 with a throttle boddy and filter upgrade. The question. Is it worth it to go dual exhaust, or should I just go for a single exhaust?
xjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-2006, 06:43 PM   #2
RCC Addict

I wouldnt even consider dual exhuast. Get a bolt on cat-back system, it will work better as well as fit better.
dittohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Thee 4.0s do not push enough air to warrant a dual setup.
All of the major brand catbacks are decent, but let me tell you what your best bet is in my opinion.

Pick your self up a good high flow muffler like a magnaflow or flow master, a decent highflow cat and head to the local exhaust shop and have them make you a custom 2.5 inch single exhaust from the exhaust manifold back. If it's a good shop they can route it to give you good clearance. That is all you really need on a 4.0.

I have tried just about every cat back and dual set up on various 4.0 jeeps and the 2.5 inch high flow muffler and cat has been the best.
Unholy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 06:53 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

Thanks guys, thats what I figured. I know enough to fix the problem and how to get basic performance boosts in my XJ but in no way am I a genious when it comes to boosting my power.
Old 09-12-2006, 06:57 PM   #5
~THE SCALE SHOP~

remember one thing
loss in backpressure=loss in torque. keep that in mind