Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat
Loading

Notices

Thread: PC Sim Racing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2018, 02:09 PM   #1101
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG KILLA SS View Post
i gotta disagree Shinchu . i started with a $500 computer and a $199 logitech G27 wheel. you can clamp them to a desk. or build a wood or pvc rig. lots of plans out there.

get him started. if he has that kind of enthusiasm at that age it could actually take him somewhere. iRacing to proffesional racer is actually getting very common these day. McLaren actually hired there latest test driver from this method as well.

all of us are too old to go anywhere professionally

and all of us here started on consol. well except Tommy.
My Thrustmaster is clamped to my computer desk! It is frustrating when it moves in the heat of battle.

Good point about it potentially leading to a career. Even eSports are huge in this day and age even if they never set foot in a real car.

I'm old and professional...just not at driving.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-2018, 09:08 PM   #1102
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpiguy View Post
Y
And, just because, I'll whore out my vid again LOL


thats ****ing awesome Randy
<---goes and looks a handbrakes.......
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 10:04 PM   #1103
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 485
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Thanks Cory. I think you were the first to mention drifting to me back on XB1 days. As I've said before, it took me 2-3 hours for it to "click", but once it does you're golden, you'll always have a feel for it. But, I've always had a thing for Formula D and D1, and drifting in general. I've whiled away a lot of hours drifting solo, and enjoy it just as much as racing.

If I had it to do over again, I'd just order the Fanatec handbrake setup. You need the USB adapter is the only downside if you don't have a Fanatec product to plug it into.
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 07:25 AM   #1104
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

was gonna ask you about that. if i get the V3i pedals and the hand brake, will i need the USB adapter?
or with the handbrake plug into the pedals?
and if so. will i STILL need the USB adapter to plug the pedals (and tag along handbrake) in the PC as standalone?
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 09:35 AM   #1105
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 485
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Pretty sure my pedals have a direct input for the handbrake, and they come with a USB connector, no adapter needed. I’ll check when I get home. Gonna pick up the Fanatec shifter and handbrake at some point myself.
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 10:59 AM   #1106
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

ill probly keep my TH8A. i prefer its feel over Steves Fanatec.
i might try tightening up the resistance on mine though. my only complaint. too free feeling.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 12:19 PM   #1107
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Last night I was running hot laps on R3E. If you guys are bored and want to try to beat a time (I'm sure you guys can beat it) I did 2:23.685s in the Calloway Ct GT3-R on Spa Grand Prix with Get Real physics. As of last night it was #50 overall. Is the Grand Prix the Spa layout we run on iRacing?

JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 12:38 PM   #1108
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

that sounds fun. ill try.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 01:06 PM   #1109
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Ran a few more laps just now. I moved up to spot #46 with a time of 2:22.850s.

JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 03:59 PM   #1110
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

gotta play with ffb some more on R3E before i buy spa and attempt.
nice work though
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 07:42 PM   #1111
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 485
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Cory, the handbrake will plug right into the V3i setup, no problem. Nice laps Tim, might give that a go tomorrow, about to watch SX.
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 08:45 PM   #1112
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

that that code for porn?
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:19 PM   #1113
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Batshit crazy!

6:56.4 minutes – Onboard video of the new 911 GT3 RS at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife

JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 10:43 PM   #1114
sketchiness abounds...
 
durok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Austin
Posts: 5,666
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
My Thrustmaster is clamped to my computer desk! It is frustrating when it moves in the heat of battle.

Good point about it potentially leading to a career. Even eSports are huge in this day and age even if they never set foot in a real car.

I'm old and professional...just not at driving.
I still do all my video game driving on a Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown mechanical keyboard, Arrow keys for accel, turn, brake, left Ctrl for e-brake (that's the keycap I keep breaking and replacing, over and over - have even slightly cracked my retro-styled keycap replacement but the doubled-up O-rings are holding it together - along with a dot of CA. If the game is more complex I just map the keys near the Arrow keys and maybe some at the far left of the keyboard around the left Ctrl...

I think I'm too old to change. This is the same way I map my FPS games, and it all started with floppy-disc based games (Doom, Quake, Duke Nuke 'Em, etc).

I have bid on some cheap zinc keycaps on flea-bay, and we'll see how those hold up to good ol' LeadFinger!

Sure, a wheel would be nice - but I need my PC to be put in another room for that. My PC is in the living room, and the wheel would be in my way all the time. I eat, smoke, browse the web, watch TV, all from behind that desk (TV is to the left of the PC).

If I went that far I'd probably get pedals too(?)

Good thing I don't play the hardcore driving sims - I just do Forza Horizon 3, Dirt 2/3/4/Rally, GRID 1/2, Driver San Francisco, WreckFest, Project Cars, SpinTires: Mudrunner, Asphalt 8: Airborne, Asphalt Xtreme, Burnout Paradise, and a bunch of Need For Speed games.
durok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 12:08 PM   #1115
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
Batshit crazy!

6:56.4 minutes – Onboard video of the new 911 GT3 RS at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife

damn. throttle application on exits seemed a bit jerky, but nice use of the whole track. PDK is insanely quick.

ill be curious what the Zr1 can do. its lighter and twice the torque. but i have a hunch the 911 has more downforce. i also dont know what tires the two cars are on. but ill bet the 911 has the advantage there too.
great vid!
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 03:01 PM   #1116
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG KILLA SS View Post
damn. throttle application on exits seemed a bit jerky, but nice use of the whole track. PDK is insanely quick.

ill be curious what the Zr1 can do. its lighter and twice the torque. but i have a hunch the 911 has more downforce. i also dont know what tires the two cars are on. but ill bet the 911 has the advantage there too.
great vid!
He struggled with traction for sure when applying the throttle so maybe that affected his confidence when applying throttle. He certainly left some time out on the track.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 05:22 PM   #1117
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 485
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

None of the sims have the new GT3 RS yet, or I'd call that a lap challenge.
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 09:29 PM   #1118
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:14 AM   #1119
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

somewhat related to this weeks race at Mid ohio. was when i had just started iracing (and my capture software sucked)
for some reason that week the car, tune and track just clicked and i felt like i had a dominating pace. unfortunatly got pit manuvered going into T1. but still made a heck of a come back. ended up making a vid of it.
enjoy.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 08:31 PM   #1120
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 485
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Got my new wheel rim today thanks to Cory and Tommy, thanks guys! I ran tonight's league race with it, and I love it. Very well built, Alcantara on the grips which I thought was rubber, etc. Man, it feels so damned perfect in the Ford GT GTE car, it matches almost perfectly to the game and really adds to the immersion. I'm gonna try to build a rev counter or display for the top plate at some point. I seriously dig the shit outta this wheel.

EDIT: My excitement was short lived. Apparently unlike Fanatec, Thrustmaster only supports certain rims on certain bases. The rim will mount up, same connector, etc, but the button mapping is all wonky. I can't even map my shifters in AC with it. This sucks, and it's some lame shit on TM's part. Fanatec rims work on any base, come on TM, get your crap together.



I also de-stickered it, ah, much better


Last edited by hpiguy; 05-08-2018 at 10:24 PM.
hpiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



PC Sim Racing - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PROJECT CARS sim game slowlearner Chit Chat 14 08-07-2013 11:51 AM
Any sim racers on here? Hellbilly Chit Chat 30 07-10-2008 10:12 AM
Flight Sim in Google Earth SlinkySam Chit Chat 2 09-03-2007 02:02 PM
rock crawling sim or game? Thorsteenster Chit Chat 2 11-20-2006 10:10 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com