Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat
Loading

Notices

Thread: PC Sim Racing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2019, 09:46 AM   #1621
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Tommy whenever i have FPS issues its nearly always shadow settings that have the biggest impact for ME. i dont know if its just my machine, or what. but changing/lowering the shadow settings always has the largest impact on FPS for me. might be worth a shot. i cant tell you the number of times ive found this to be true in many of my sims.


i also dont know shit about building computer or compatibility. thats where pcpartpicker.com comes in. it does ALL that for you. and finds the cheapest prices.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2019, 10:15 AM   #1622
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG KILLA SS View Post
Tommy whenever i have FPS issues its nearly always shadow settings that have the biggest impact for ME. i dont know if its just my machine, or what. but changing/lowering the shadow settings always has the largest impact on FPS for me. might be worth a shot. i cant tell you the number of times ive found this to be true in many of my sims.


i also dont know shit about building computer or compatibility. thats where pcpartpicker.com comes in. it does ALL that for you. and finds the cheapest prices.
Thanks, Cory. I'll give shadow settings a try. I suspect that's a BIG issue with ATS.

Regarding the PC build, I've been using partspicker, but I still have plenty of options to choose from and it's very overwhelming. partspicker looks like it'll confirm compatibility, but not necessarily help me choose the best option for my needs......at least not that I can tell.
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:40 AM   #1623
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

I just kinda used its rating system. and a bit of googling. was able to figure stuff out. and i knew/know nothing.
also Tomshardware.com has alot of tests, benchmarks, reviews and comparisons.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:51 AM   #1624
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Thanks! I may ultimately just do that, but hoping some folks I know (and kinda trust ;) ) may be able to offer some suggestions.

Also, since I run triples I'm wondering if that impacts my GPU choice. Case in point, my current GPU card needed to use an adapter to send signal to one of my monitors. Maybe that's not an issue? I just thought it'd be better to have three identical outputs?
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 01:04 PM   #1625
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

thats part of AMD cards ALL AMDs require that one monitor to be of a different jack to do triples.
mine is the same way.

my suggestion. start with the best video card you can afford on pcpartpicker. then add another $100 to upgrade to the next one
i would suggest going nVidia honestly. pick a 2070 or 2080 you like and go from there. then pick processors, and then motherboard. work from there. googling any features, parts or words you dont know anything about. thats what i did.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shop/ge...9&locale=en-us

the key to the entire build is the GPU. everything is is really trivial in performance %.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 01:36 PM   #1626
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

See, that's kind of the info. I'm looking for, i.e. is my CPU or my GPU my most limiting factor? The Oculus test showed that it was my CPU, but I'm not so sure that's the case. I would suspect my GPU because that's what I understand to be the more important item for a gaming PC.
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 02:39 PM   #1627
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

no clue why your processor was flagged a quad core 3.8 is enough for just about anything. it may simply be Oculos works better on intel? im not so sure i havent heard Randy mention that.
but grab yourself a i5, i7, or i9.
theres only $100-$200 difference in most of the choices of the those 3.

this is the highest rated intel on pcparts
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/tdm...bx80662i76700k

most likely due to its high speed/low cost ratio.


heres the entire list of i5-9 listed by rating.
find something that suits you. pick 2 or 3 and start googling comparisons, benchmarks, and reviews.

https://pcpartpicker.com/products/cp...-rating&page=1

Last edited by STANG KILLA SS; 07-09-2019 at 02:47 PM.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 05:08 PM   #1628
RCC Addict
 
indybama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bottom of the toolbox
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Not much for racing, but it is a pc sim lol. Boss man was playin on his computer wen i got back to the plant earlier

https://youtu.be/D9Q4NJCBUJA

Sent from my SM-J327VPP using Tapatalk
indybama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 08:37 AM   #1629
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Installed the other Samsung SSD HDD this morning. So far it's not being recognized. Is there anything I need to go in order to get it "seen" by Windows?

One thing to note. See in the pic below the connector circled in red? It was too difficult to get that to connect to the new drive which I taped underneath the existing SSD HDD. So I took the plug out of the DVD player and used it for the new drive and used the last connector (circled in red) for the DVD. I assume that's okay? The DVD is recognized.


The other connector is plugged into an available port on the MB. Does that need to somehow become activated? What else can I do to get my new drive recognized?

Thanks!
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 08:40 AM   #1630
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Here's where it plugs into the MB (in the empty slot shown).
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:48 AM   #1631
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

So I used the SATA connector on my MB that was used for my DVD drive since I know that worked. That got my new SSD recognized. Great! But after trying various combinations to get both the new SSD and the DVD drive recognized, I came to the conclusion that the two SATA connections you see unused in pic are not functional. I'm not sure why. Is there a way to activate them or is something wrong with my MB?

On the bright side, the new drive is installed and recognized. Now to determine if I want to clone my old drive onto this one or leave things as-is with the new drive being primarily for storage. Thoughts?

Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 05:36 PM   #1632
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

one of the most in depth thorough vids ive seen. and not necessarily for the original idea/title. just really good.

STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:18 AM   #1633
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Well, big updates since my last post. I bit the bullet in a pretty big way (for me, at least). I'm going fully Fanatec now. Club Sport V2.5 wheel base, V3 pedals w/load cells, V1.5 shifter, and the brake performance kit with a variety of elastomers to fine tune the brake feel. Here's some pics just 'cause!






The wheel base is out of stock until next week. Hope that doesn't get delayed! But the wheel that I wanted was on back order until the end of August! That would be brutal to wait that long, but I managed to locate a gently used one and it should ship to me today.


And wait, folks! There's more!

In my quest to find a better solution to bring my monitors closer to me and to have them wrap around better.... I came across a deal on an SRC triple mount system. It's missing one piece (it's used), but I've got a lead on replacing it. It's also designed for 45x45 profile so I may need to drill out a hole to get it to work with my 40x80 profile. Shouldn't be an issue.

It mounts to the frame so hopefully the FFB of the wheel doesn't cause vibrations through the monitors. If so, I'll likely modify it to be free standing. Here's some pics of the setup from the mfg's site:


And how it's intended to mount. Should go on mine in a similar fashion.


Needless to say, I'm super excited to finally have some really, really nice gear!
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:34 AM   #1634
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing




congrats bro!
definitely immediately floor/stand-alone mount the triple mount.
monitor shake is the worst. highly distracting. ruining the immersion.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:52 AM   #1635
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Thanks, Cory! Super stoked about it all... I'm going to try mounting the monitors to the stand initially. It's amazingly solid so maybe I'll be impressed, but I'll be prepared to place an order for more material to make it a standalone setup.
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:20 AM   #1636
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

your replacing your TH8A?
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:29 AM   #1637
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG KILLA SS View Post
your replacing your TH8A?
I hope to try both and keep only one. The ease of switching from gated to sequential is strongly in favor of the Fanatec, though!
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:43 AM   #1638
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

i knew you were a sequential man, and the fanatec definatly has the advantage there.

ill be anxious to hear your thoughts on comparing the gated feel of the two. to see if they mimic mine.
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:04 AM   #1639
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 4,275
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

Quote:
Originally Posted by STANG KILLA SS View Post
i knew you were a sequential man, and the fanatec definatly has the advantage there.

ill be anxious to hear your thoughts on comparing the gated feel of the two. to see if they mimic mine.
Yeah, I really never used gated shifting in iRacing. Main reason being it's too unrealistic/awkward to do while sitting at a desk when shifters and such may move and heel/toeing just felt too weird. I'm really hoping that'll change with the cockpit and I can start shifting like the real car I'm "driving", whether it's paddles, sequential, or gated. I currently only use gated for truck sims, for the most part.
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:27 AM   #1640
~THE SCALE SHOP~
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KILLEEN TX
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PC Sim Racing

yeah i suppose mine collects dust most of the time too. except miatas in iracing, and street corvettes in AC, PC, rF2, RR, etc
STANG KILLA SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



PC Sim Racing - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PROJECT CARS sim game slowlearner Chit Chat 14 08-07-2013 11:51 AM
Any sim racers on here? Hellbilly Chit Chat 30 07-10-2008 10:12 AM
Flight Sim in Google Earth SlinkySam Chit Chat 2 09-03-2007 02:02 PM
rock crawling sim or game? Thorsteenster Chit Chat 2 11-20-2006 10:10 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com