Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: I need advice talking to a former boss

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2020, 07:47 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default I need advice talking to a former boss

Everyone I really need advice. I found a job I want to apply for but I need to clear the air with my former boss and honestly I’m scared.

After I graduated college with 2 associates degrees, engineering and mechatronics, I was looking for a job in my field. Which I got my foot in the door at the dream place I wanted to work at. Like this place I was told did not normally hire people fresh out of college with no experience, but my neighbor and someone I went to school with (somehow got a internship there) both worked there and they put in a good word for me. Plus my new boss also was a teacher, I didn’t have him but one of my references was the other teacher that did the same classes as my new boss.

Anyways I started at this place building control panels for bulk material handling with no definitive day I would ever start doing engineering work. 2 weeks later I was starting in the engineering office which after a few months led to full time engineer just without the tittle. I eventually worked my way up to helping the experienced guys with the drawings for the great big jobs. The ones with multiple sales people with several meetings that required start up. Unfortunately at this time I started focusing more at texting my girlfriend at the time and less on work.

Things got worse when the vp saw me on my phone which lead my boss and i to the hr office. Unfortunately I was too stubborn and did it again and my boss was forced to let me go.

Weeks later my neighbor told my parents that it killed my boss. He really liked my work ethic but wished I wasn’t stubborn with my phone.