Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: All this NFT talk, Questionable??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2022, 02:06 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default All this NFT talk, Questionable??

What's up with that?

Buying a computer drawing for THOUSANDS of dollar's?

What gives?

Real confusing on what this NFT is? Social media, all talk about NFT.

Jake Paul bought a pic for 56 thousand dollars,WOW??
Frank211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-2022, 04:10 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: All this NFT talk, Questionable??

I'm no expert on the subject. But my understanding of Non-fungible tokens is the "bitcoin version" of collectables.

Non-fungible, (for anyone wondering) just means that it has a unique value.
Stocks and bitcoins are fungible, and they all have the same value as their "Brothers". Which is to say every bitcoin is worth the same as every other bitcoin. When the value of bitcoin goes up they all go up.

Non-fungible tokens are like collectable sneakers or artwork. They all have their own unique value. The NFT is basically a blockchain version of a "certificate of authenticity"

NFTs can be art work, but they can also be any other digital asset. Avatars, tweets... anything. the NFT just proves that you have the original copy of whatever that digital item is. It could even be a song.

And just like records or anything else, even though they are made from the same thing, originals are worth more. The mona lisa is worth a lot more than a copy of it sold at walmart.

Often the value associated with these NFTs has more to do with who made it than what it is. But I will agree the prices seem massive so it wouldn't shock me if it has something to do with tax sheltering and evasion. But that's my own speculation. Similar to art collections also being worth insane money.
AC49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 05:06 PM   #3
Rock Crawler