Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat
Loading

Notices

Thread: Palm Treo 650

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2007, 10:07 PM   #1
Rock Crawler
 
John Deere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 564
Default Palm Treo 650

Does anyone know how to make this thing work with my wireless router from home or anywhere for that matter. I can not get the internet to work to save my life. I have read manual and still do not understand. Thanks in advance.
John Deere is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-2007, 10:30 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
TLTCrawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 2,489
Default

What provider? I am only familar with cingular, and you have to have a PDA plan, to use a PDA phone to its full capabilitys.
TLTCrawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 11:05 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
John Deere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 564
Default

I am in luck then. I do have cingular. I do not have a PDA plan though. Is that kind of like just a extra fee toward you monthly payment or what? If so thats fine other wise I am not signing another contract with them. Reason being mine is up. Thanks for help though please keep it coming.
John Deere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 11:32 PM   #4
Rock Crawler
 
SMR4RUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PNW!!!
Posts: 747
Default

Unless you buy aftermarket, the Treo 650 does not have built in network capabilities or any hard wired way to connect to your router.

The only (legal) way to gain network connectivity is through WI-FI.
The device I know of is a bulky sled that attaches to the back of your 650. It is made by Enfora . Check out Treo Central . They will have all the answers you are looking for.
SMR4RUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 08:48 AM   #5
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In the basement
Posts: 929
Default

Just spend the 10 or so bucks for the data plan.
xjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 10:07 AM   #6
Rock Crawler
 
John Deere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjman View Post
Just spend the 10 or so bucks for the data plan.
Thats what I am gonna do I think. I am gonna go today and check on all this.
John Deere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:27 AM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
FrankyRizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 7,172
Default

Too bad the phone itself sucks a$$. I hate mine. I wish I could chuck it in a river.
FrankyRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 02:14 PM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 2,781
Default

You need to hit up Cingular and add the data plan to your account

My 680 came with the interface cord and software - It's not wireless but it's easy to interface with my PC.

I like my Treo, it does pretty good as a phone IMO, with the added ability to get on the internet and check my e-mails and stuff in the field.

While we're on the subject of phone issues, anyone know where I can find out what my Bluetooth headset ID number is?
Big Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 02:35 PM   #9
Rock Crawler
 
John Deere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 564
Default

I think that might be in the bluetoth settings area. Look in the files from you had to add it to your phone. Thats how it was on my razor.
John Deere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 03:46 PM   #10
I wanna be Dave
 
TLTCrawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 2,489
Default

If its a PDA phone w/ internet (cingular's media net) you need the PDA plan, or media bundle (basic, or whichever)

PDA plan has unlimted internet, AIM, MSN, etc (not anything to do with minutes, I think its unlimited texting tho, im not 100% sure)

Try www.cingular.com sign in using the main line phone number, area code first (xxx-xxx-xxxx)and you password, go to yoru account and click on your name (if more then 1 line, aka add-a-lines) and it will show your phone as a palm treo 650 and you can go look at guides, or info on your plan/phone to get the full capabilities.
TLTCrawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com