Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Chit Chat

Notices

Thread: Most horrific day of my driving career.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2007, 04:01 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Most horrific day of my driving career.

Ive been driving a truck for 11 yrs. now and today was the worst. I was driving on I-465 witch is the loop around Indianapolis, hauling my usual oversize load when the driver of the car ahead of me fell out of it at 60 mph. I put both feet on the brake pedal and also applied the hand valve for the trailer and barely kept from running him over, witch supprised me cause I haul precast concrete wall for buildings that weigh in access of 50,000 lbs. I jumped out figuring he was dead, but he was still breathing but was very badly injured. He had a crack in his skull, his right eye was solid white, compound fracture in his right arm,both legs were broke, road rash like ive never seen before and was bleeding heavily from the mouth.His car proceeded another 3/4 mile and slammed a guard rail. Luckily it did not hit anyone. Myself and another motorist talked to him to try to calm and tried keeping him from moving until paramedics could arrive. I will say his screams will be in my head for a while. Please everyone wear your seatbelt.
offroad1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-07-2007, 04:03 PM   #2

How did he fall out?
CopperTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 04:05 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

How does one fall out of a car? Was it a Wrangler w/o doors or something similar? Sounds like you did the right things though.
Destroyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 04:41 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper