Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Duratrax Cliff Climber

Notices

Thread: rear steering lockout

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 07:35 PM   #1

Default rear steering lockout

so let me know if this is a total newbie question. I have noticed that alot of you guys choose to lockout the rear steering, is this to conform to comp rules? I seem to be more successful with the help of rear steering. does it make a positive difference or is it to creat more of a challenge.
furiousgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-2009, 10:07 PM   #2

Theoretically it should help, by tightening the turning radius, but it all depends on the driver and the terrain. Generally locking the rear steering makes a truck easier to drive at speed, like the Clod Buster. I find it's a little more predictable, because you don't have to deal with the rear tires sliding on a rock in a different way than the fronts, or the rear steering getting 'moved' by the force of the terrain. Counter-steering will also react differently than you get used to when driving regular cars or trucks.