Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: battery dies fast

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2008, 07:24 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default battery dies fast

so I got my crawler done I have a tq3 radio system and 4 wheel steer, and have noticed that the battery runs down pretty fast. Do I need to get a cc bec to connect to one of my servos? or will I have to run to tq3 receiver on a seprate battery? thanks.
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-2008, 08:10 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mesa
Posts: 602
Default

What type and capacity of battery?
Mriswith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 08:18 PM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eden Prairie, MN
Posts: 1,203
Default

What kind of motor and servo information could help too...

FYI, when asking a question, the more info you give the better the answers.

Cake Eater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 08:44 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default

I have a 8 cell 1500mah split pack from tcs and the motor is a 65 turn integy, and I have two hitec 645 mg servos for the 4ws.?
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 11:17 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ICE BERG HELL
Posts: 202
Default

I am not going to lie, i think the pack is part of the problem,lol. I have been trying out those same cells, and not very happy with my run times just on a servo and motor. Your motor and 2 of the servos shouldnt create a big issue being I can run a 55T and a single 645 on a 1320 2 cell lipo for better part of an hour.
Mav-1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 10:19 AM   #6
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default

ok but does anybody have a split pack that's like 3000 mah? or is there some instructions somewhere that would show me how to build my own battery pack? cause I can't afford to switch to a lipo pack and charger right now.
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 11:47 AM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lacey
Posts: 833
Default

how fast is pretty fast? how much does the rig weigh? how's your gearing?
mysharona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 11:59 AM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default

i'm not sure how much my rig weighs. or how fast the battery dies I will have to time it when I go crawling next. but my gearing is a 21t pinion gear and a 87t spur gear. should I change my gearing?
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:14 PM   #9
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the Dark Edges of your Mind
Posts: 6,385
Default

You could change your pinion to something like a 14 tooth. When I went from a 14 tooth to a 17 tooth I noticed my run time was reduced considerably.

All split packs will be about the same. That said, I get 45 min to an hour out of my 6 cell 1500's.
Harvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:35 PM   #10
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default

ok guys I get about 15min out of my 8cell split pack if I change my pinion gear how much longer will I be able to run for? I will see how much it weighs later. Right now I'm thinking about buying a different chassis to put the drive train on.
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:49 PM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the Dark Edges of your Mind
Posts: 6,385
Default

Sounds like you have a bad cell or pack. Did you break them in with a nice long slow charge? Those batteries shouldn't be charged at more than a 1 amp rate (or less if possible) for the first several charges.
Harvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 11:20 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Duchesne
Posts: 377
Default

I charged it at 1.5 amps like tcs said. but I think your right about having a bad pack cause it charges for like five minutes and then the light on my charger starts blinking, so I think that I will have to buy another one and see what happens.
iceman320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com