Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Quick motor explanation please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2008, 05:54 PM   #1

Default Quick motor explanation please

Can someone explain to me why a 55 turn motor is slower than a 45 turn motor?

I'm relatively new to crawling and I've never dealt with motor speeds before, my friend was telling me a 45 turn motor is slower than a 55 turn but I'm almost 100% positive the 55 turn is the slower motor, I just couldnt explain to him why.

I dont need anything too detailed, but a good explanation would be great. I searched this forum already and dont see the answer.
Recty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-15-2008, 06:15 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

A 55 turn motor has more winds than a 45 turn motor. The more winds a motor has, the more torque it has. So a 55t will be slower with more torque than a 45t. But once you change brands or go to a handwound, this is not always true. From what I have heard, the handwounds like Holmes hobbies and JP Customs 35 turns have more torque and alot more wheel speed than a 55t integy.

I am sure that one of the motor guru's will come in and explain it a little better.
Rockcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 06:20 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

On a side note, power wise, would say a 45 turn handwound give me better performance than say the 45 turn integy v11. I am coming from a 7t puller motor and love the speed, but hate the runtime and will need 2 for my my next crawler, and would hate the runtime from 2 puller motors and the mongo battery they would need.
tedmales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 07:29 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmales View Post