Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: 4PK Setups, Tips, Tricks and Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 12:38 PM   #281
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: behind the wheel of a monster truck...
Posts: 2,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRobHolmes View Post
The tekin controllers have stronger drag brake right now.
Well John if yours were out right now you would be in luck..Well I guess I would be....I am needing something figured out asap!I would love to have two of your speed controls and two 35 turns and a 11 volt Lipo...Too bad you never have ANYTHING in stock........Well I guess you have some lipos.....Not much good without the motors and speed controls...

Last edited by Jeepial; 05-04-2009 at 12:49 PM.
Jeepial is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-04-2009, 09:33 PM   #282
THE Y-TOWN OG
 
dboy1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: yuma
Posts: 251
Default

does anyone know if there is a way to set up the rear scroll so it will go back to 100% with out rolling it up to 120%? i scroll down to about40-70 no problem without looking at the screen but when i go back up to full 4x4 i go past it or sometimes not enough.
i hope i make sence here
dboy1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 12:58 AM   #283
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,496
Default

Thanks for the tips Harley. I set up my 4PK on my Losi tonight using your tutorial.
wrightcs77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 10:10 PM   #284
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrightcs77 View Post
Thanks for the tips Harley. I set up my 4PK on my Losi tonight using your tutorial.
Your welcome
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 10:11 PM   #285
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

LOSI CRAWLER SETUP


This is simple and strait forward, just want to give you guys a quick reference.

Go to a clean model and name it for reference first.

This is what your home screen will look like.



Next you need to decide what switch you want to use for your dig. I am programming this using DT2 because I am guessing many of you will use this one.


Go to the DIAL menu:




Set DT2 (or whatever dial you choose) to read: CH3 100 / NOR



I chose to also clear the rest of the settings on the screen so I can't screw anything up while driving, this is just personal preference.



This will give you a standard 3 position switch on the 3rd channel. Pretty simple


Now to adjust your end point adjustments (EPA) so that your steering servo is only moving the proper amount do the following:

Go to your EPA menu:




With the rig in the air (tires not touching the ground) adjust the ST values until you get the amount of steering you want. I suggest going to full lock and then dialing it back a fair amount since this truck seems to extremely weak CVD's:

These values are just for example, actual values will depend on servo and servo horn length you are using.




Now repeat this if you want to setup a dig servo:

Go to your EPA menu:




With the rig in the air (tires not touching the ground) add a small amount of throttle and adjust the 3rd channel EPA's until the dig engages and disengages with full engagement:

These values are just for example, actual values will depend on servo and servo horn length you are using.






Any questions just let me know, and don't blame me on your steering end points breaking your CVD's
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 09:40 AM   #286
Im Brandon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 8,156
Default

Anybody with a 4PK needs to check this out!!

http://www.redrc.net/2009/06/team-ep...ah-li-fe-pack/

Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 04:35 PM   #287
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sacramento
Posts: 178
Default

hey guys... NEED Help.. how can you have front dig, 4wd, rear dig using any switch as a three position switch... Simple put... i want it to act like a micro dig switch...

Last edited by thehammer; 06-20-2009 at 04:47 PM.
thehammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 04:54 PM   #288
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thehammer View Post
hey guys... NEED Help.. how can you have front dig, 4wd, rear dig using any switch as a three position switch... Simple put... i want it to act like a micro dig switch...
I'll see what i can do but don't think I'm an going to have any luck.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 04:59 PM   #289
Moderator
 
whoodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas baby!
Posts: 1,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley0706 View Post
I'll see what i can do but don't think I'm an going to have any luck.
X2, I'm pretty sure that is not possible, unless you use a servo to actuate dig switches. But that kind of defeats the purpose of a 4PK.
whoodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 05:32 PM   #290
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sacramento
Posts: 178
Default

thank you for looking in to it... waiting patiently... FYI .. running two tekin fxr's...
thehammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:38 PM   #291
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 20 miles southeeast of downtown Sacramento
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thehammer View Post
thank you for looking in to it... waiting patiently... FYI .. running two tekin fxr's...

Go back to page 4 and look at the video/setup.
It is on two switches rather than one 3 pos switch but works the same.
Ya do need the four channels of and two pre-mixes of the 4pk to get both digs on the trigger but very doable.
oldhippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 12:44 PM   #292
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thehammer View Post
thank you for looking in to it... waiting patiently... FYI .. running two tekin fxr's...
There just isn't any way to do what you are looking for. MY suggestion is to learn the setups that we have posted and then see what you may want to modify. These setups are better overall and don't allow you to mistakenly throw your truck into something you didn't expect.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:32 PM   #293
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Hey guys, I have updated the first post of this thread to make setups easier to find. This thread is getting pretty long and I don't really expect every single person to read the whole thing. So if you know anyone needing help you should be able to refer them right here and expect them to be able to find what they need easily
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 03:25 PM   #294
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sacramento
Posts: 178
Default

thanks for your reply....
thehammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:59 AM   #295
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: hillsborough
Posts: 1,031
Default 4pk and twin FXR's

Harley, havin a bit of an issue w/ my super.ive been drivin it more lately, and getting better, but been noticing that the rear motor isnt powering up exactly when the front motor does. It seems to be underdriving compared to the front.

Ive reset my radio calibration, my profiles are exactly the same, and all my settings are 100%. Kinda twisted on this one:?. If i add offset into the mixing, would that solve the problem? It seems that it would, any help would be appreciated. Thanks
scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 05:43 AM   #296
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: south caki laki again
Posts: 1,695
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatterbrains View Post
Harley, havin a bit of an issue w/ my super.ive been drivin it more lately, and getting better, but been noticing that the rear motor isnt powering up exactly when the front motor does. It seems to be underdriving compared to the front.

Ive reset my radio calibration, my profiles are exactly the same, and all my settings are 100%. Kinda twisted on this one:?. If i add offset into the mixing, would that solve the problem? It seems that it would, any help would be appreciated. Thanks
I had the same issue, I went back into mix 1 and uped the offset to 6% and its on the money now!!
hbj069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 08:18 AM   #297
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Just as long is this doesn't screw up how your truck acts in reverse you should be fine doing that. Sounds like you are just fighting good old fashion Clod stall. Dual ESC's can never completely cure the problem. You could try the old techniques like dropping a tooth on the rear pinion too.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:48 AM   #298
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: hillsborough
Posts: 1,031
Default

Thanks harley, yeah anymore than like 5% offset jacks with my rev. Guess ill drop a tooth in the rear and go from there. Thread has been a big help
scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:37 AM   #299
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatterbrains View Post
Thanks harley, yeah anymore than like 5% offset jacks with my rev. Guess ill drop a tooth in the rear and go from there. Thread has been a big help
Make sure your motors are in good shape too, you may just be trying to mask a problem somewhere else. It has been longer than I care to admit since I have owned a super though.

If I can help with anything else on the radio let me know.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:55 AM   #300
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: hillsborough
Posts: 1,031
Default

No prob, motors are GTG goin to do the Pinions to 8/7 and see what it does.

scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/136728-4pk-setups-tips-tricks-help.html
Posted By For Type Date
• Afficher le sujet - Quelqu'un connais bien la radio Futaba 4PK ? This thread Refback 10-05-2011 06:51 AM
• Afficher le sujet - Mon nouveau joujou This thread Refback 10-05-2011 06:04 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com