Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Using Mulitiple ESCs and Larger Motors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2005, 12:07 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Using Mulitiple ESCs and Larger Motors

I am getting back into building my cutsom rig, and I have a few questions. I want to use a large gear motor, but it is not a "hobby" grade motor. I am not worried about weight issues, or driveline strength, or center of gravity and stuff like that. What I am not too sure about is the electronics aspect of it. I will give the specs of the motor sop you know what I am working with:

162 RPM @ 12 VDC
1.5 Amps - No Load Rating

I know a bit about electronics, but I am not too good with conversions and equations. Is it possible to use a "hobby" esc for this motor? Also, if I wanted to use two motors, or maybe 3, could I use a seperate ESC for each and tie them all into one RX? I would be using a seperate battery pack for each motor/ESC combo.

Also, would a standard battery pack be able to run one of these motors? I realise this motor is rated for 12V, but I may be able to run it at a lower voltage, with lower rpms. I am just wondering if it can put out enough "juice" to run the motor.

I know this is a far-fetched plan, but it is something I have been wanting to try for a while now, just for fun. Any input is welcome, thanks.

Last edited by Mad Scientist; 08-19-2005 at 12:13 PM.
Mad Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-19-2005, 02:04 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I fit really pulls 1.5 amps, you should have no problem. But I would try to find the stall amps and make sure they don't exceed the limits of your chosen esc. But you should be fine, some motors we use pull 50 amps.
egdinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2005, 04:10 PM   #3
RCC Addict