Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Check my plan for power?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 08:27 PM   #1

Default Check my plan for power?

I'm building up my first crawler. I've read a number of the threads here and have formed an idea of what I want to do - I'd like to check with the forum to see if I have any glaring gaps in my plan. Any quick replies are appreciated.

I'm building a 2.2 semi scale daily runner.

I'm planning on:
55t motor (brand not determined)
Lipo's 11.1V (recommend brand?)
Novak ESC with lipo limiter
a stick radio system because I'm used to planes and boats and plan on rear steer, etc.
I will add seperate receiver batt pack (I think if it will fit)

Am I in the ball park???

Again - I'm a newbie - have been searching the threads. I'm
interested in your experience if you have time to give it.

THX!
Ernie
Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-21-2009, 11:12 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

You plan on getting in the water? If the rec pack wont fit, go with a BEC.
Rockcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 12:10 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder

if you plan or going 3s get either a tekin or a castle speed controll. why have the extra voltage if you're not going to use it?
Lil Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:58 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-celleratorwtf View Post
if you plan or going 3s get either a tekin or a castle speed controll. why have the extra voltage if you're not going to use it?
+1
Why a 3s? More power than needed for the crawler motor. I'd run something with atleast 5A BEC like the rooster esc and if you have problems use a external BEC unit. I don't use one with my rooster and I don't have problems with my 200+ oz. servo.

Get the rooster novak 55t package. 2s lipo(max amps), 3 channel radio (3pm?) and possibly a BEC unit if needed in the future. Basically what I have.