Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 08:29 PM   #21
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 322
Default

Just the other day I put a load of 8.33 amps or 100 watts @ 12 volts and it dropped .37 of a volt. From 12.15 to 11.78, so it could handle a full load (12amps) and not shut down the charger due to low voltage. So if you could get a voltage out of 12.1-12.5 volts by changing the resistor, you should be good to go. I only charge my nimh batteries at 1/2C any way, lipos aren't needed when you just bash.
racerfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-2010, 10:34 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Prairieville
Posts: 16
Default

i use a 250w supply and 8 cells (4 2 cells) at 7a i got 11.37v in pulling roughly 240w. works great!!
sudden_scaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 03:41 PM   #23
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 322
Default

What is your idle voltage when not charging and what is the listed max amperage of the
power supply at 12v?

Last edited by racerfred; 03-09-2010 at 03:45 PM. Reason: addition
racerfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:19 PM   #24
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Race City(Mooresville)
Posts: 94
Default

i have a triton2. a have a really old ATX power supply but it's only 100w +12v@2A -12v@.3A +3.3v@6A 5v@10A. I am unsure if its gonna be powerful enough? can anyone help?
es79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:06 AM   #25
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Race City(Mooresville)
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by es79 View Post
i have a triton2. a have a really old ATX power supply but it's only 100w +12v@2A -12v@.3A +3.3v@6A 5v@10A. I am unsure if its gonna be powerful enough? can anyone help?
Anyone have any insight?
es79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:42 AM   #26
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: eaton
Posts: 80
Default

that is the same power supply i use for a triton jr it works ok but i need to try different risistor to get the voltage up it only has 11.48 volts but it has never shut off due to lack of voltage even when charging 5amps on a 5000mah lipo
T-Dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:50 AM   #27
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Race City(Mooresville)
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Dubb View Post
that is the same power supply i use for a triton jr it works ok but i need to try different risistor to get the voltage up it only has 11.48 volts but it has never shut off due to lack of voltage even when charging 5amps on a 5000mah lipo
thank you much sir...i bought the 100watt 10ohm resistor, which is what I'm guessing your using? its the same one mentioned on the webpage of the original build.
es79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:01 PM   #28
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: eaton
Posts: 80
Default

It is 10watt 10ohm in the build so that is what I am using
T-Dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:06 PM   #29
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: YYZ
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by es79 View Post
thank you much sir...i bought the 100watt 10ohm resistor, which is what I'm guessing your using? its the same one mentioned on the webpage of the original build.

That will not work,

You have a really old 100W PSU and yet you are putting 100watts of load on 5v rail. Not a good idea.

Just visit your local computer shop and ask for a cheapest ATX PSU. You can find cheap PSU for like $25~30 and it will like be 350W+. Besides, you want a higher Amps on the 12v rail.

yeah, seriously that PSU you have isn't gonna work out too well.

Last edited by xxgg; 03-23-2010 at 02:09 PM.
xxgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:07 PM   #30
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Race City(Mooresville)
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxgg View Post
That will not work,

You have a really old 100W PSU and yet you are putting 100watts of load on 5v rail. Not a good idea.

Just visit your local computer shop and ask for a cheapest ATX PSU. You can find cheap PSU for like $25~30 and it will like be 350W+. Besides, you want a higher Amps on the 12v rail.

yeah, seriously that PSU you have isn't gonna work out too well.
lol, well i'm sorry i miss typed that... 10-ohm 10-watt its a bar type wirewound... i think i do have the right one...

yes, i know i could buy a better one, but i thought the the main concept was to make something from what you already had, if it don't power it properly then i will more than likely just buy a lab power supply...or maybe see if there is a local computer store that will give me a deal...thanks for the catch, you have me scared cause i have already tested it to see if it would run...

it had 12+v so i think it will be ok as long as that bar resistor holds up?
es79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:29 PM   #31
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Dubb View Post
that is the same power supply i use for a triton jr it works ok but i need to try different risistor to get the voltage up it only has 11.48 volts but it has never shut off due to lack of voltage even when charging 5amps on a 5000mah lipo
If you are not shutting down the charger you don't really need to get you voltage up. If you just want to, lower the value of the resistor to get a higher voltage. 10 ohms at 10 watts is a starting point, imo. I go by my DVM. I was looking for parts for another project and I went to the computer shop for dead power supplies. I got a few and one still worked though the fan was dead. A $3 fan that all was needed. Would any one like to see a "build" or is the info here enough?
racerfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:05 AM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Prairieville
Posts: 16
Default

worked fine for me
sudden_scaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:53 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Default

what is the best charger for the dollar - venom ?
Sokelobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 03:59 PM   #34
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 771
Default

with my power supply i didn't wnat to spend money on a resistor and had a bunch of LED's laying around so i just made up a small circuit board with 10 leds on it to simulate a load for the 5v
T3rry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 01:45 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario,Can
Posts: 8
Default

I'm trying to build one of these.I couldn't find anywhere locally to buy the 10w 10ohm resistor but,a friend of mine who builds guitar amps gave me 2 5watt 12ohm resistors.Does anyone think these will work alright?
Alhazred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 03:34 PM   #36
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 322
Default

10 ohms at 10 watts is a starting point, imo. I go by my DVM.
The only real way to figure out what resistor to use is to measure the voltage with a meter. If the voltage is too low, lower the value of the resistor. Don't over do it with trying to get a high +12, because it may over work the power supply. Bottom line, there is no telling which resistor to use because of the different manufactures designs. It's trial and error.

You can find these resistors at Mouser.com http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...QSGuZcvbhfM%3d
racerfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 04:42 PM   #37
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3rry View Post
with my power supply i didn't wnat to spend money on a resistor and had a bunch of LED's laying around so i just made up a small circuit board with 10 leds on it to simulate a load for the 5v
I bet it looks cool!
racerfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 06:38 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: athens
Posts: 39
Default

nice write up! I know have to find a power supply to mod.
nick344 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:26 AM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Papillion
Posts: 31
Default

Have fun converting a PC p/s. I have.
Ax10xman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:38 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mission viejo
Posts: 2
Default

You guys got me on the hunt for a PC p/s !!! damn wish i hadnt trashed the old comps i had laying around...
rollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/163458-modding-pc-power-supply-into-12-volt-supply-your-dc-charger.html
Posted By For Type Date
Using a Computer Power Supply To Run a Charger - R/C Tech Forums This thread Refback 10-05-2011 05:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com