Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Lipo recommendation?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2009, 08:18 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Lipo recommendation?

Hey guys,

Just picked up a new Hustler in a trade. Truck has a Mamba Max running two 60 turn lathe motors w/ 8 tooth front and 6 tooth rear pinions. Also has CC bec and Futaba 4EX running two high torque servos. I have zero experience with LiPos but figure I need to take the plunge. Please recommend me a battery and charger that will work well with this set-up and best place to purchase them. Like I said up until now I have had no interest in the possible fires or other dangers associated with LiPo batteries so please go easy on me.

Thanks!
Z-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-04-2009, 08:43 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

I would go with an Elite2200 35C and either an Elite charger or Hyperion eos 0606i. We carry them on our website. The 2200 35C is what I run and they'r ehands down the best lipo of that size and the cheapest for the quality.
Chris_The_Battery_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 08:44 PM   #3
RCC Addict

Well the biggest issue you have is mounting space. Where do you plan on putting the pack and how much room do you have to work with? I would go 3S for wheel speed and power. As for a charger look at the Hyperion EOS 6006i AC/DC balance charger. : http://www.maxamps.com/EOS0606i-AC-DC.htm
Once you have the space you have figured out then you can pick a capacity that will best fit your needs. Also don't worry about fire hazards, Li-Po's are just as safe as any other batteries out if cared for correctly. I would suggest you take a read here: http://www.maxamps.com/lipo-care.php that page will explain some very simple things that you will need to know and understand. If you need to you can also contact me by e-mail at jason@maxamps.com.

-J

Last edited by JAM MaxAmps.com; 04-05-2009 at 06:55 AM.